We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Inn, Great Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morning Glory Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pittsburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morning Glory Inn
Save
You added Morning Glory Inn to your Saves list
2119 Sarah Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15203   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Pittsburgh B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Inn, Great Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

My stay at The Morning Glory Inn was perfect and everything I hoped for. It felt like staying in a beautiful home away from home. The Attic Suite was gorgeous, the location was perfect for a short walk to all the great restaurants that Carson Street had to offer, and, after a long day of travel and exploring lovely South Side Pittsburgh, it was awesome to get in my PJs and explore this gorgeous house in my socks, then retire with my boyfriend to my comfortable king sized bed. Breakfast was absolutely delicious and I really enjoyed talking to Dave and benefitting from his knowledge about the city. Definitely would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C David E, Owner at Morning Glory Inn, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for the excellent review! We are so glad you felt "at home" at our inn. We strive to make our guests comfortable and hearing reviews like yours is a great pay off. Please come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    17
    7
    13
    22
See reviews for
20
49
6
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connellsville, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

A friend and I decided to stay here for the St. Patrick's celebration on Pittsburgh's South Side as all the other hotels were gouging their prices and were well over $300 for one night. The Morning Glory Inn was a great decision! It is a beautiful B&B. Joy was accommodating from the moment we checked in! We stayed in the Fisher room which was very nice. It was clean and the bathroom was fantastic! Although we knew we wouldn't be awake in time for breakfast we were given a card to fill out indicating whether breakfast would be wanted or not. On weekends you can chose to have breakfast at 8 or 9am. They provide a keurig with coffee pods in the library area as well as bottled water and biscotti. It was truly a very nice place. Parking can be an issue (which is always the case on the South Side), but there is a lot a block over on Carson Street that you can pay to park in. it was $20 for all day/overnight. The Inn is within walking distance to all the bars and restaurants on the South Side.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C David E, Owner at Morning Glory Inn, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for the great review! St. Patrick's day is a very lively and entertaining time to visit our neighborhood and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate you taking the time to review us and share your experience. We hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed in The Garden Room over Valentine's Day weekend. The room was cute, cozy and exceptionally comfortable. The bed was exquisite. We did not want to leave it.

The owners were friendly and generous. They provided complementary chocolates and bottle of wine for each room. They also provided fresh biscotti and a bottle of port in the library.

The breakfast portion of the bed and breakfast was also very tasty. The Valentine's Day special was a perfectly prepared chocolate waffle accompanied by a generously sized fruit cup, coffee and orange juice. The stay was well worth the price.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C David E, Owner at Morning Glory Inn, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for the perfect review. We are glad you were pleased with your accommodations and the service you received. We are thrilled you thought so highly of our inn. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and come back and visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I knew about the Morning Glory Inn from attending a wedding there years ago. It was a wonderful , beautiful surprise for my girlfriend who had no Idea where I was taking her...Bed, Room, accomodations were above average. flower and Vday candy near the bed. bottle of white wine and glasses too. Dave met us upon entry. Great host!! great location to walk to restaurants and shops on East Carson. Reasonable rates as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C David E, Owner at Morning Glory Inn, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for the excellent review and for taking the time to share your experience with others. We hope we made your Valentine's day stay a memorable one. Please come back and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

My husband and I spent the night at the Morning Glory Inn on December 20th to take some time for ourselves and get away from all the hustle and bustle of the holidays. We had a wonderful time enjoying each other's company and I had the most relaxing and peaceful sleep on the temperpedic bed. It was like being in heaven. We stayed in the attic room and it was absolutely beautiful. Dave was very hospitable and Joy cooked the most amazing breakfast. The rest of the staff that we met were very friendly also. We are looking forward to another trip back there.

Room Tip: Attic Room was beautiful and the bed was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C David E, Owner at Morning Glory Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for the perfect review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and took the time to share your experience with others. It gives us a great feeling when our guests are happy with their accommodations, breakfast and customer service. This is exactly what we strive for at Morning Glory Inn. Come back and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

My fiance and I just spent a week at the Morning Glory Inn in Pittsburgh. The inn is elegant and the service excellent. We found Dave and Nancy to be friendly, hospitable, knowledgable and very helpful.

Please ignore the rants about this couple being unfriendlly, this is simply untrue. They are discrete and dignified as you would expect in a first class inn but don't mistake this for unfriendly. They are both very warm and they more than go out of their way to make your stay a good one.

Dave and Nancy gave us excellent information on the best places to eat and the most interesting things to see. They know the Southside of Pittsburgh very well and really enjoy living there in their restored row house behind the inn.

All in all, this is a lovely place, lovingly and expertly restored. It has very much of an elegant European feel and the location gives you a chance to really appreciate this very unique Pittsburgh neighborhood. We rarely used our car because there is so much to do that is within walking distance of the inn. Enjoy your stay here. You will be very pleased with you choice and take he critics with a large grain of salt.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C David E, Owner at Morning Glory Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are thrilled you were pleased with your accommodations and our customer service and that you took the time to share your experience with others. We strive to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable as well as provide you with first class service. Based on the time frame of your trip, I must give credit to our office/reservation manager, Joy (often mistaken for Nancy). Joy is also the one who serves the delicious breakfasts in the morning and tends to the details that make a Morning Glory Inn stay so special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Every time we come to Pittsburgh to visit family, we try and stay here. Others must have discovered how good they are,because they were booked every weekend for the past six months! We were finally able to stay over Thanksgiving and as usual owner Dave and his wife made it a lovely visit. IF you are looking for a great place to stay in the heart of the South Side, pick Morning Glory!

Room Tip: We like the Garden Room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C David E, Owner at Morning Glory Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for the perfect review! We always enjoy seeing a familiar face and we are so glad you choose to keep coming back. We are looking forward to your next visit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morning Glory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morning Glory Inn

Address: 2119 Sarah Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morning Glory Inn is a Victorian brick townhouse bed and breakfast with rooms as inspired as the sights surrounding us! You will succumb to a wonderful blending of "old and new" that is both cozy and comfortable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Morning Glory Hotel Pittsburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morning Glory Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.