We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the raw oysters!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gandy Dancer Saloon

Gandy Dancer Saloon
100 W Station Sq Dr., Pittsburgh, PA
412-261-1717
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #248 of 1,721 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Bemus Point, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Love the raw oysters!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Great atmosphere and always friendly staff to serve you! We LOVE the fresh oysters never a disappointment!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    14
    7
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Come to the Burgh and check out GANDY DANCER SALOON”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Had a few drafts. Ordered the lobster bisque and salad. The soup was very tasty. The bread was a good complement.

Atmosphere I excellent. The bar is impressive...check it out.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Still a Good Bet at Station Square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Station Square restaurants are notoriously over-priced, loud and crowded (aka, "touristy"), but we still enjoy a quiet dinner from time to time at the Gandy Dancer Saloon. Tucked discretely into a corner at the Grand Concourse, this place is more casual and less expensive, but shares the same kitchen staff, so the food and Menu are every bit as good as those of her Big Sister.

On Saturday I had the Tuscan Portobello Pasta which was perfectly cooked linguine in a light vegetable broth sauce, with spinach, kalamata olives, sundried tomatoes and juicy, thick sliced portobellos. Accompanied by delicious hot rolls (I ate 2!) and a generous house salad, this dish saw me through to luncheon leftovers next day. My Sig/Oth had the Crabcakes which he also said were prepared to perfection-- crisp and dry on the outside, tender and delicately flavored within. He liked the Potato Croquettes and Asparagus accompaniment. For dessert, the Banana Foster Creme Brulee was delicious, and enough for two after such a bountiful feast.

Our total with mixed drinks was just $58.00. A little higher than most casual restaurants in Pittsburgh, but not bad for the quality of cuisine and terrific service received. Herbie, our Waiter, was extremely professional and pleasant-- such a refreshing experience when a lot of restaurant service these days is so poor. The atmosphere at the Gandy Dancer is sophisticated, but in a fun Gay 90's sort of way. Jeans are okay here, but dress them up instead of down. The Grand Concourse next door is much more formal.

If you are staying in the Downtown area this is a dependable place to eat, have a drink, watch a game, and still be able to hear yourself think. Highly recommended for grown-ups.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“All around worthwhile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My colleague and I have recently been in the Station Square area twice and chose the Gandy Dancer for lunch. My taste buds are really happy we did. I chose two different pastas and both were great, although I am partial to the Cajun tortellini.

We had excellent service both times---gracious and fun.

The atmosphere of being in the former train depot building is always fun for me. It makes me think of grand times in Pittsburgh!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Impressive surroundings, but service was very off.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We have been to the Gandy Dancer at Station Square in Pittsburgh many times, and each time has been a great experience. Until last night. The facility itself is marvelous, and well worth the look, but frankly I would advise to go for a beer at the bar rather than attempt to endure the spotty service. In fairness, every server and every restaurant has it's bad nights. This night, our server appeared to be experiencing some sort of breakdown, and would disappear for 30 minutes at a time. The manager and other servers finally stepped in to cover, but she would randomly reappear and basically screw everyone up again. Given her state of mind, the Manager should have had her leave. Also, we were conveniently seated near a service area, and one of the off duty servers can in for her check or something and got into a very heated conversation with the manager. While endlessly entertaining, it was highly unprofessional and leads me to the belief that this restaurant is suffering from either consistently poor, or randomly poor service execution.

I do hope they get it together. It is such a nice venue it would be a shame for it to be shuttered due to service issues, but Pittsburgh is upping it's game in the culinary arena, and there are many choices.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gandy Dancer Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Gandy Dancer Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gandy Dancer Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.