We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in the heart of Pittsburgh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn University Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn University Center to your Saves list
Quality Inn University Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3401 Boulevard of the Allies, Pittsburgh, PA 15213   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #43 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Lansing, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in the heart of Pittsburgh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed at this hotel while attending a roller coaster club event at nearby Kennywood amusement park... It was a short 15 minute drive to the park from the hotel. Rooms were clean, and the staff friendly and knowlegable. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben G, Manager at Quality Inn University Center, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and for writing such a nice review. I hope you had fun at Kennywood! If you're coming back to town, come stay with us again!

Sincerely,

Ben Greiner
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    57
    70
    36
    28
See reviews for
71
41
20
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I stayed at this hotel May 15, 2013 because my daughter had a baby at Magee Hospital. The hotel was a short walk away from the hospital so I saved money on parking. The bed seemed clean and the shower/tub was decent, but that's where it ends. The hotel is in desperate need of an overhaul. The chairs in my room had stains on them, the carpet, besides needing swept, was coming up around the walls, the wall around the air/heat unit was rotted and needed paint and there was and empty pizza box on my balcony. From my room, you could hear all the outside noises and my alarm clock made some unusual noises about every hour or so. The staff were very nice and helpful!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben G, Manager at Quality Inn University Center, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Congratulations on the birth of your daughter's baby! I'm glad you chose our hotel and that your room was clean. We are making many improvements to our rooms and building. Nearly everything is being replaced and/or repaired. It's a slow process but it's an investment we're happy to make. I'm sorry there was litter on your balcony. I will make sure the housekeeping manager checks all balconies to ensure they're clean. I am sorry about the outside noise. Unfortunately, the Oakland neighborhood of Pittsburgh can be quite noisy at times due to the traffic and all of the local attractions. It's nice to know the staff was helpful and pleasant. Hopefully, we will see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Ben Greiner
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I was in Pittsburgh for a medical appointment and wanted convenience to the UPMC. This hotel fit the bill. It was less than 5 minutes away, easy to find, and easy to get where I was going. The price was reasonable, and it was clean. That being said, it was pretty basic without the usual refrigerator, microwave, or breakfast. Most things in the room worked, but with some minor problems with lights and the TV. The bed was a bit soft, and the pillows hard. Despite this, the location and price mean that I will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben G, Manager at Quality Inn University Center, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thanks for staying with us during your recent trip to Pittsburgh. I'm happy you found our hotel to be clean, affordable and conveniently located. Did you know that many of our rooms actually have microwave/refrigerator combinations? The next time you have to come to town, call us directly, 412-683-6100, and ask for a room with a microfridge. And, don't forget that we always offer a special rate for guests who have medical appointments! See you next time!

Sincerely,

Ben Greiner
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel recently for business. All the other hotels in the area were booked. This was my first time in Pittsburgh.

The pros:
Free parking
There is a Panera located downstairs, which is convenient for breakfast.
The TV has a lot of channels (but the screen was grainy).
The water was hot.
The sheets and towels appeared clean enough.
They provided some cups, hair dryer, refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave, basic toiletries.
Bathroom appeared clean enough, I suppose.

The cons:
The building is seriously old. I was stunned when I walked into the room. I guess for the price in this area I shouldn't have been so surprised, but it looks like the carpet was there for 60 years. It was so shabby, stained, and worn.
The bedskirt was stained.
The walls were chipping.
Half the lamps in the room didn't work.
The heater was very temperamental. Turned on heat, got cold air instead.
The bathroom door is all stained and dinged and cruddy. Just gross.
Room itself had an old, musty smell. I sneezed a lot.
Road noise from outside is quite loud.

All in all, if you can afford to pay more, then I recommend a different hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben G, Manager at Quality Inn University Center, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.com. I am happy that your room was clean and that had all the amenities you needed. We are happy to be the only hotel in the area to offer free parking. The attached Panera Bread Cafe is a great bonus for our guests, as well.

I am sorry you had issues with your stay. But, I'd like to point out that we are making number of improvements to the building as we speak. I'm not sure of the room in which you stayed, but we've replaced furniture in half of the rooms, so far. New carpet is being installed in the entire building this fall. Our maintenance crew is currently painting all bathroom doors and door frames, among other projects. And, I am working with Comcast to fix reception issues with some of our non-HD channels.

Come back and see us next time you're in town and ask for an updated room- we'd be happy to have you stay with us again!

Sincerely,

Ben Greiner
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Several rooms were reserved for family members for the graduation of our daughter from Pitt a couple weeks ago. Everything was fine, rooms were clean and adequate. Nothing fancy, but the price was great, and included free parking. The Panera Cafe on the first floor is very convenient since there is no breakfast provided.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben G, Manager at Quality Inn University Center, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for the nice words! I'm pleased your stay was pleasant and that your room was clean and comfortable. Congratulations on the graduation. Hail to Pitt!

Sincerely,

Ben Greiner
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Two couples stayed here. The staff was thoughtful enough to give us rooms next to each other. The rooms were comfortable enough and each had a balcony. Unfortunately some sort of machine outside periodically made noise throughout the night. There was free coffee and tea in the lobby all day. Each room had a coffee maker. Panera's is on the ground floor; we enjoyed our breakfast there.

This hotel was in the perfect spot to visit Oakland and downtown Pittsburgh. We left one car while we went sightseeing. We did not use the hotel's shuttle but it would have been available to take us to spots in Oakland.

I think we got good value for our money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben G, Manager at Quality Inn University Center, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thanks so much for the nice review. I'm glad you enjoyed your trip to Pittsburgh and that the staff was able to accommodate you. If you're returning to the city any time soon, come back and see us again!

Sincerely,

Ben Greiner
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East PA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Okay I have 2 kids at PITT. I have been going back and forth for 4 years and will continue for another 3 at the very least. We usually stay at the Hilton Garden but we could not get a reservation so we stayed at this place. It is a Quality Inn. You do not buy a Toyota and expect the performance of a Lexus. It is the same with this hotel. Yes it is older, yes the carpet is like indoor outdoor, and the walls are stucco. Before tax it is roughly $100 a night with FREE PARKING. The Hilton would be at least $170 a night more for this weekend. I am betting it is $100 more then this hotel on any night you chose. Plus you then have to pay for parking. Sticking with the Quality INN it is clean, and basic. We really did not hear that much noise. The AC/HEAT will make noise when it turns on but I slept through it. The furniture is dated, the bed not as plush, plastic cups, no fridge, an no free breakfast. Is that bothers you then pay at least $100 to $150 more a night, enjoy a better bed, glass cups, maybe a fridge, free breakfast, and have to wait for a valet to get your car. Ironically 2 weeks ago we stayed in a 5 star hotel in downtown Pittsburgh for over $400 a night that had ripped lamp shades, 2 broken phones, and chipped furniture.

So in summary. The room is clean and basic. You can still walk to the PITT campus. You have free parking, and a Pannaeras on the ground floor. Considering the price my only real negative was I think the bath towels could be a little larger.

If you are there to see your kids at PITT, and just looking for a place to shower and sleep this is fine. If you want to pay to park, and be a little more plush there are 2 other hotels in the area but be prepared to pay around 2X or 3X more.

Room Tip: Odd floors have ice machines. Could be a plus or minus for some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben G, Manager at Quality Inn University Center, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
I'm glad you were able to stay with us during your recent trip to Pittsburgh. Although your regular hotel was booked, I'm glad we were able to accommodate you.

If you're returning to the hotel in the future, ask for a room with two double beds. Those rooms all come with a microfridge and are larger than the single rooms. Since we're not a full service hotel, we unfortunately don't offer glass cups in our rooms. But, we're proud to offer free parking and the attached Panera Bread Café.

Something to note: we've already replaced furniture in about 50% of our rooms so far. New carpet and more new furniture will be installed by the end of the year.

Thanks again for the review.

See you next time!

Sincerely,

Ben Greiner
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn University Center

Address: 3401 Boulevard of the Allies, Pittsburgh, PA 15213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn University Center 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn® University Center hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Pittsburgh's cultural, university and medical districts. It is within walking distance from the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center (UPMC) health system, including UPMC Presbyterian, UPMC Montefiore and Magee Women's Hospital of UPMC. Carlow University, Carnegie Mellon University, the University of Pittsburgh and Duquesne University are all within two miles. Nearby attractions include Pittsburgh Playhouse performing arts center, Schenley Park, Phipps Conservatory, Carnegie Museum of Art and the Carnegie Museum of Natural History. Free transportation is provided to these locations, as well as to UPMC Shadyside hospital, Western Pennsylvania (West Penn) Hospital and VA Pittsburgh - University Drive. Still looking for more to do? Check out these additional area attractions: PNC Park, Heinz Field, CONSOL Energy Center, Stage AE, David L. Lawrence Convention Center, Pittsburgh Zoo & PPG Aquarium, Carnegie Science Center with Highmark SportsWorks, Andy Warhol Museum, Children's Museum of Pittsburgh, National Aviary, Kennywood amusement park and Sandcastle water park. We are located only 20 miles from the Pittsburgh International Airport, 12 miles from the Allegheny County Airport, less than two miles from the Greyhound bus terminal, two miles from Megabus and less than three miles from Union Station Amtrak station. All hotel guests will enjoy: Free parking, Free wireless high-speed Internet access, Free 24-hour coffee service, Free weekday newspaper and free local calls and Fitness center. Panera Bread is located on the hotel premises, and is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A variety of restaurants and lounges are within walking distance, and our friendly staff is always happy to make recommendations. Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like voice mail and spacious work desks. All guest rooms at this Pittsburgh, PA hotel include private balconies, coffee makers, irons, ironing boards and cable television including HBO. Select rooms come equipped with microwaves and refrigerators. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn University Center provides friendly customer service, cozy accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn University Hotel Pittsburgh
Quality Inn Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn University Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.