We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel comfort and secure in an amazing hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1247 Smallman Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15222   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Double Points!
Ranked #5 of 54 hotels in Pittsburgh
Kansas, United States
1 review
“Feel comfort and secure in an amazing hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The location of this hotel was minutes away from the hospital where my dad was staying. My car was parked in a secure area. The rooms were nice size and very clean. The complimentary breakfast had a nice selection to choose from and was very good. I enjoyed my first stay so much I stayed again a few days later. Spend a little more money and you'll get yourself an amazing hotel to stay in. Priceless!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    301
    192
    31
    8
    3
See reviews for
165
166
33
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
frye island
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

attending the frozen four, couldn't ask for a better location. by the rink and across from downtown free subway stop. suite was spacious and clean. shuttle great dispite limited range. the help were great. pool nice but, hard to believe no hot tub. restaurant/lounge little too upscale and lacked atmosphere (and tv's)

Room Tip: suites worth it. had a regular room as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Fantastic Customer Service, extremely pleased with our stay! We had an enormous amount of space for our 2 kids to run around in, and were close enough to walk to all major sights in downtown! The Breakfast was perfect, and despite a situation that could have tarnished our stay, staff rose above and beyond to rectify and make us feel comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We came to town not for business or pleasure we came to town for a surgery in a near by hospital. We were very please with the hotel and its staff and they made are stay in town great considering the circumstances. Thank You

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

In town for the NCAA Frozen 4 Hockey Tournament, picked this hotel based on TripAdvisor ranking of downtown hotels, free parking, and the price. Convenient to a handful of eating establishments, within 5 minute walk, most of downtown and the hockey arena are about a 15-minute walk.

Hotel is very well kept both inside and out. Staff was very friendly, except for one incident. Called the morning of my arrival, around noon, to cancel one of the rooms I had reserved. The front desk agent told me that there was a 24-hour cancellation policy, but this "one time" they would waive any fees. Checked the back of my original reservation receipt and to this day it clearly says cancel up to 6:00 PM on day of arrival. Not sure when they instituted any new policy, if they did they failed to notify me.

Breakfast each morning was provided, plenty of variety, hot egg dish, breakfast meat, pastries, fresh fruit, juices. The staff worked exceptionally hard at keeping things stocked and tables cleared as it was very busy each of the 4 mornings we were there.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Pittsburgh.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Four of us stayed (in two rooms) at the Hampton Inn on the Strip while attending a national hockey tournament at the Consol. I mention this because that could imply numerous difficulties: excessive noise, lack of parking, etc. None of that occurred.

In fact, the staff was welcoming and hospitable...even leaving out coolers of bottled water during the day. The rooms were very quiet and comfortable. The breakfasts varied and above-average for the chain itself. And a bigger surprise: plenty of seating for all the breakfast guests at peak time. And the final benefit: free parking.

Moreover, it's location is ideal--a twenty minute walk to the Consol arena. Equally short walks to the restaurants in the Strip or the theatre district. It's very well situated.

I give it five stars not because it's a five-star hotel, but because it's five-star *budget* hotel. And it performs on that attribute very, very well.

Room Tip: Snag a room on the 8th floor--it's the highest one there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We recently stayed here while visiting Pittsburgh for the first time. Cons: It was pretty pricey (averaged $227 per night). The cleaning products used are pretty potent and bothered me at first (I have allergies). Also, the hotel is at the edge of downtown so a bit of a walk to things. Pros: The hotel was very clean and housekeeping did a great job of freshening up our room each day. There is free parking right next to the hotel. Our room was quiet which was great for sleeping.

Overall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown

Address: 1247 Smallman Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#4 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.