We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for what we needed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1247 Smallman Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15222   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Double Points!
Ranked #4 of 54 hotels in Pittsburgh
cincinnati
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Perfect for what we needed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed in 2 queen rm and was surprised by how much room we had. We were able to walk everywhere that we wanted to go. Consol center was about 3/4 mile easy walk. The strip district is a couple blocks away. Staff was very helpful. Free parking was great. Free breakfast was pretty good, although I do like to have either sausage or bacon and neither were available. Not a big deal.
We plan on staying here next summer to see a Pirates game.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 314 which was quiet and roomy for 4 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    323
    202
    33
    8
    3
See reviews for
179
177
36
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This Hampton Inn is about what you would expect. I did have one of the larger suite rooms. As always when this happens, the A/C - heating unit is the same size as for the smaller rooms. Thus it runs almost continuosly and the TV has to be turned up quite loud to be heard over the noise. In addiiton, the TV was also the same size as the smaller rooms. I was not happy with the self-park area as it is very dark and I did not like having to often park in the overflow lot and walk alone at night.
My bathroom, while it had a jetted tub, had no way to turn on the jets. It also was somewhat moldy smelling. the closet was a good size and the sink area has shelving so you can store your items under it. However, it did have an awful light above the mirror that just cast shadows on your face. I sure wish all of the hotels would put in a lighted make-up mirror. It is such a nice touch.
The breakfast was robust, with scrambled eggs, waffles, and the usual cereals, etc. However, the dining area is not very large and we had to wait one morning to get a table. They also had the breakfast to go bags and baked cookies in the evening. While you can walk to several restaurants, there are NO durg or grocery stores nearby and the hotel does not have a shuttle. You can walk to downtown, but it is a bit of a hike in the winter. I had a room in the back which faced part of the river but mostly looked into a big office building.
I doubt I would stay there again.

Room Tip: The hotel sits just a bit back from the road, request a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek P, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at our hotel. We really appreciate your feedback and are very sorry for the inconveniences you experienced while staying with us. We will take your comments under consideration as we work with our team to improve our guest experience. Again we apologize for the issues and we hope you will come visit us in the future. We would love another chance to provide a great stay for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

At first glance I thought the room was pretty decent until I saw the bathroom that is. It didn't feel vary sanitary just walking in and I felt like I should have worn a hazmat suit. Also, I was very hesitant with sleeping on the sheets.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek P, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you chose our hotel during your recent stay in the area and we apologize for the housekeeping problems you experienced. Unclean rooms are not typical at our hotel and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We will make every effort to ensure our rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards and that our guests are 100% satisfied with their stay. We hope you will give us another chance if you visit this area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Down for a hockey game with my son, this was a good choice but a bit of a walk to the Consol Energy Center.
New, clean, friendly and helpful staff,pool and fresh baked cookies in the lobby!
Right across the street from the Heinz Historical Centre - associated with the Smithsonian - worth the visit especially for sports fans.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We were in Pittsburgh for a family wedding. Most family members stayed here for reception across the street, The hotel was clean, attractive, rooms were very large and comfortable, staff was friendly and helpful. It was a great gathering place for family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel at least 3 or 4 times. I'm always surprised at how nice the property is. The staff is very nice and gated access parking is behind the building. The rooms I've always had here are LARGE and WELL furnished. Clean and always like new. Towels are soft and clean. Bathroom large and fresh. Frankly - the rooms at this hotel are nicer than many full service Hilton and Marriotts. A good choice. It's in an area known as "The Strip" and there are some very good restaurants nearby, including Lidias (Italian)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Great Experience! In town for a Steelers Game. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Room was clean, large with a great view. Kids loved the pool and the chocolate chip cookies were great!
Will definitely return to this hotel in future visits!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown

Address: 1247 Smallman Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.