We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence in everything!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn on Negley

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pittsburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn on Negley
Save Saved
You added The Inn on Negley to your Saves list
703 South Negley Ave., Pittsburgh, PA 15232 (Shadyside)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Pittsburgh B&B and Inns
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellence in everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

From the time we checked in, until we checked out, everything about this place was perfect!! The staff is friendly and accommodating, the rooms are well appointed, pristine, and comfortable, and the breakfast was spectacular. We have stayed at the inn twice, and each time it was a wonderful experience. It is in a great location and within walking distance to Walnut Street where there are great shops and restaurants. We will come back to The Inn on Negley for years to come!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    11
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
25
73
9
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is a great place to stay. It was beautiful, clean, and quite. Their breakfasts, cookies, and wine and cheese were great. They also have accommodations that are extras that are great for a romantic weekend (i.e. wine/cheese/crackers in room, meal in room, massage appointments). They were very accommodating for my surprise birthday weekend for my husband and had things waiting in the room for us and then when we went out they brought a cake into the room for my to surprise him when I got back as well. The staff were very friendly especially Bill! The location is great. Just about 10 minutes to the Heinz and PNC stadiums and just as close to all of the museums, the strip, and downtown. They have different sized rooms. If you want a larger-newer room just ask about them. They are quite beautiful.

Room Tip: If you want a larger-newer room just ask about them. Take advantage of the cookies and wine & c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I have stayed here several times over the past 3 years. The Inn on Negley feels more like a small boutique inn rather than a Bed and Breakfast. There is great attention to detail. Breakfast is always good, and we like that (1) you are provided a choice of menu and breakfast time and (2) there are individual tables in the breakfast room.

The location is perfect to walk to restaurants, shops and bars on Walnut Street in Shadyside, and it is also an easy enough drive into downtown.

All-in-all, the Inn on Negley is top-notch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

We have nothing but good to say about this Inn. Located close to museums and downtown. Staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast was awesome. They offer complementary house wine each evening, too. I give my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Dear Liz

We couldn’t rest without sending this e-mail after our latest stay at The Inn on Negley.

If only we had adequate words to tell the absolute perfection of our experience.

This is the latest and longest of our many times at the Inn and although it doesn’t seem possible, each time seems better than the last. It’s difficult to pinpoint any specific part of the experience as the service and attention is sheer perfection in every area. You and your “crew” seem to know exactly what we want or need before we even know ourselves so that it is rare that we have to ask for anything. Then if we do, it’s there or done before you know it.

Breakfast was always absolutely delicious with every whim catered for and was something we looked forward to every day. A gourmet delight which could easily have substituted for dinner.

All in all a fabulous operation with a wholly relaxing atmosphere whether in the luxurious comfort of our room or in the equally luxurious sitting room which enabled us to completely “chill out” 100% of the time and enjoy our time in Pittsburgh to the full.

We look forward to our next visit to Pittsburgh impatiently.

Thank you again for everything.

Louise & Laurie Cohen
________________________________________

Room Tip: Each room is different and all beautifully appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed here recently for our 21st anniversary on 11/2. We stay a lot in the city of Pittsburgh so we are used to the usual four star hotel experience. This was something special. From the moment we walked in, we were greeted so warmly. The decor of the Inn itself was unique and homey. We stayed in the Cortland suite. It was spacious and lovely and we appreciated all the special touches such as robes and slippers and the luxurious L'Occitane bath products. The two staff members we encountered were helpful and sweet without being overbearing. Before leaving for dinner at Casbah, we enjoyed complimentary wine and cheese in the cozy dining area and chatted with a few other guests which was very nice, In the morning, they had an amazing breakfast ready at the time you allot. I had the pumpkin pancakes which were heavenly and very much appreciated given the Fall season. What a jewel tucked so close to the city, Before we left, I reserved for Valentines weekend so we can look forward to another incredible experience, The owner(s) of this Inn should be proud to own and run such a gem and also be proud of their wonderful staff who helped make the experience even nicer. We will be back without one doubt.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, OH
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I have a daughter in Pittsburgh and were set for a weekend at the Inn in Oct. 2011. Two days before our arrival my husband went into the hospital for serious medical reasons; over the next two months he went through some harrowing medical events and it took him six months to fully recover. But the nights we were due to be at the Inn he was in intensive care at the hospital. The Inn charged us for one of those nights because they couldn't fill the room. One would think even an offer of a discount in the future would be a nice gesture, but I could hardly get the reservation person to return our call. Not even the airlines turn their backs on this kind of surprise turn of events, but the Inn on Negley does.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn on Negley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Negley

Address: 703 South Negley Ave., Pittsburgh, PA 15232
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Shadyside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on Negley is an elegant dining and lodging establishment located in the historic Shadyside neighborhood of Pittsburgh. We are in easy walking distance from many of Pittsburgh's best restaurants and fabulous shops. Built in grand Victorian style in the late 1800s, the Inn is a luxurious option for romantic getaways, business travelers and visitors to the close-by universities and museums. We are open to the public daily for breakfast, afternoon high tea and our unique cookies and cocoa service, by appointment. Also, The Inn on Negley is the perfect venue for your special intimate gatherings, such as dinner parties, showers and business luncheons, fully catered by our talented chefs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn On Negley Hotel Pittsburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn on Negley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.