We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many special touches to enjoy your stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn on Negley

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pittsburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn on Negley
Save
You added The Inn on Negley to your Saves list
703 South Negley Ave., Pittsburgh, PA 15232 (Shadyside)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Pittsburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vine Valley - Middlesex, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Many special touches to enjoy your stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

My husband and I needed to stay in the area that the inn is located for business. We hoped to find an inn that would allow us to relax while away on business and be near some fine dining as well. We found the inn to be perfect. Our room was spacious and the extra sitting room made for a very relaxing evening. It's all the extras that made the stay special - from L'Occitane products, the luxurious bathrobes, several pillow choices, wine in the afternoon, a lovely deck to enjoy it on and a staff that was very accommodating. We were only blocks away from several great restaurants and the staff even made our dinner reservations for us. We normally stay at inns and/or bed and breakfasts when we travel and this makes the list as one of the nicest.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    12
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
30
78
10
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was very nicely appointed, everyone on the staff was friendly, capable and helpful, and the breakfast was wonderful. We had also asked for the wine and cheese package, and that was very well done, including beautiful roses!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

My daughter and I traveled from South Dakota to Pittsburg with the idea of checking out the city for a possible move to the city. We decided to stay at the Inn on Negley and I think we were both pleasantly surprised. What a great group of people on the staff. We asked questions about the city and they were helpful with idea's of places we should check out. The Chef's prepared a healthy and tasteful breakfast every morning and we looked forward to it! After traveling to get to Pittsburg on Sunday we were looking forward to the "Afternoon Tea" when we arrived. We were able to relax and enjoy the rest of the day because of the laid back atmosphere of the Inn. Our accommodations were above and beyond comfortable...the bath products were also a pleasant surprise! L'Occitane is one of my favorite splurges! I cannot say enough about our visit to Pittsburg...and the Inn on Negley made it over the top!

Room Tip: Our two room suite was a nice place to relax and unwind. The bedding was clean and soft! Each room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadville, PA
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed for two nights in the Cortland Suite. It was gorgeous! Large room, terrific bed, beautiful decor and amenities. The staff was excellent. Heidi and Jackie were especially helpful and friendly. The breakfasts were delicious and they handled my pickiness very graciously. A couple of very small things.....the tv was older and needs to be updated to a flat screen and the shower was not as luxurious as the rest of the room. Not much water pressure, plain shower head and it took a long time for the hot water to make it to our room. But these are small things. The attention to detail in the entire inn was incredible, and we will definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

This review is WAY overdue. My husband and I, for several years now have nade this inn a destination on our way to Cincinnati. It is out of our way to go there, but as we need to make the long drive bearfable, we make a detour to stay overnight at this truly truly wonderful Inn. We are always welcome (and a little glass of wine and nibbles after a torrential rainstorm is such a delight), the room is always beautifully appointed and comfortable. The bathroom always--what it should be--and is. As for breakfast, be sure you try it. Golly we love this place. Forgive me, dear Negly Inn, for having taken so long to tell the world how wonderful you are.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We are in Pittsbugh every few months and love staying at the Inn. The owner and the members of the staff are gracious and friendly. It is like coming home every time we come back. The breakfasts are fantastic and the attention to detail is amazing! We highly recommend The Inn On Negley, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitou Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I travelled with my daughter for a college campus visit at Carnegie Mellon and stayed just one night. We stayed in the Northern Spy Suite, and we had the living room made up as a second bedroom. The bedroom is spacious and lovely, the bed is very comfortable. The sofa bed in the second room was also quite comfortable according to my daughter. The staff is friendly and helpful with directions to campus. There is parking in the rear for your car. The breakfast (included) is delicious with made to order omelets, home made baked goods, fresh juice, extensive selection of teas, and artfully presented. The price is very competitive especially considering the convenient location and the gourmet breakfast. The whole inn is beautifully decorated with artwork and tasteful period furniture. There are a lot of stairs to get up to the Northern Spy suite, so it is not for those with knee problems, otherwise it is a great room.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn on Negley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Negley

Address: 703 South Negley Ave., Pittsburgh, PA 15232
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Shadyside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on Negley is an elegant dining and lodging establishment located in the historic Shadyside neighborhood of Pittsburgh. We are in easy walking distance from many of Pittsburgh's best restaurants and fabulous shops. Built in grand Victorian style in the late 1800s, the Inn is a luxurious option for romantic getaways, business travelers and visitors to the close-by universities and museums. We are open to the public daily for breakfast, afternoon high tea and our unique cookies and cocoa service, by appointment. Also, The Inn on Negley is the perfect venue for your special intimate gatherings, such as dinner parties, showers and business luncheons, fully catered by our talented chefs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn On Negley Hotel Pittsburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn on Negley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.