We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Church Brew Works

Church Brew Works
3525 Liberty Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15201
+1 412-688-8200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 1,720 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $34
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unique and delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

Been here many times since we live in the area. We had some family visiting from outta town so of course this was a must. Food is good, really enjoy their pizza. They only serve their own beer, so you gotta find you're own taste. Being an old church makes it unique, definitely give it a try.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    294
    85
    21
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Service was beyond outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

The food was quite eclectic. The nontraditional pierogies were quite tasty (although I personally prefer the basic potato pierogie). My jambalaya had just the right mix of heat and flavor.

While the food was very good, I was struck by how attentive and helpful our server, Tom, was throughout our dinner. I can honestly say he was one of the two or three best servers that I have ever had.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Ambiance, beer, and corn dogs!! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Great venue! Lots of local brews to try. Get the sampler and try several. The bison corn dogs were the highlight. Very good!! Also ordered the filet mignon but was disappointed with quality and preparation of beef (not much flavor). Beet salad was pretty tasty. A must see bar in Pittsburgh!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawsonville, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Food, Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

The food was really good and our waitress was very friendly. I had the mango sangria and my friend had one of the speciality brews (Brett Ambrosia), which were both tasty. The atmosphere was different from anywhere I've ever been (being in an actual church) but it was neat. I would recommend to anyone visiting Pittsburgh, especially beer drinkers!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unique Restaurant - Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I've been to quite a few brew pubs, but this one is my favorite. It is very unique to have a brewery in an old church. The food was excellent.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Church Brew Works also viewed

 

Been to Church Brew Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Church Brew Works, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.