We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the try” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Primanti Brothers

Primanti Brothers
3803 Forbes Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15213-3505 (Central Oakland)
(412) 621-4444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #258 of 1,895 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Central Oakland
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Worth the try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Visited this restaurant my first time to Pittsburgh. We enjoyed it! The place was really hustling and our server was overwhelmed and service was slow but we liked the food. I just enjoy trying iconic places and this fit the bill.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    46
    27
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

A little loud music and unfortunately sat right by the open kitchen area so it was pretty busy and added nothing to ambience. Food was good but the portions were almost too large.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAMI
Top Contributor
812 reviews 812 reviews
467 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 217 cities Reviews in 217 cities
320 helpful votes 320 helpful votes
“HUGE sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We loved our overstuffed sandwiches. I had the capicola with cheese and my husband had the turkey sandwich. Both came on thick white bread with lots of cole slaw and french fries piled on the sandwich. We had to ask for forks because so much spilled out. It was great ! Price was very inexpensive: $14 FOR 2 SANDWICHES.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Awesome sandwiches - Primanti's style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Primanti brothers has the to-die-for sandwiches in the burgh! Have it with slaws and fries! Amazing!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent - One of a kind place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This place in downtown Pittsburgh in the Strip District or North Shore is a place you definitely need to visit if you are in the area. It's been on TV food shows and there's a reason why. It's small, cramped, old and maybe even ugly but you won't find better food or atmosphere. The sandwiches are as big as your head and have Cole slaw and fries on top of whatever you order. It's fantastic! Don't miss this place.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Primanti Brothers also viewed

 

Been to Primanti Brothers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Primanti Brothers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.