We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let the outside fool you!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peppi's

Peppi's
927 Western Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15233
412-231-9009
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #125 of 1,895 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Family Fare
Good for: Dining on a budget
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Irwin, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't let the outside fool you!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Peppis is small. The outside doesn't seem like much, but the inside is classic diner-style. The food is cooked right in front you and it is great! I got the walk in special. A full cheesestake with fries and a drink for under $9. And it filled us up!I really wish more people knew about this place and knew enough to try it out!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My sandwich spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This is my spot 4 a steak sandwich when I'm in the Burgh. I order a Big Wheeler (steak& Italian sausage) & add a fried egg. This sandwich is the Sh.... 2 me Peppi's says Pittsburgh sandwich spot. I don't care what others say about other sandwich shops 2 me everyone should try Peppi's when in Pittsburgh.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Roethlisburger is actualy pretty good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Coming to the 'Burgh? Gotta go to Peppi's for a Roethlisburger. A large sandwitch with eggs cheese sausage and more the was surprisingly good. I will definitely go back again. The restraunt itself is nothing special but the sandwiches are.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beltsville, Maryland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good sandwiches, poor service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This place is famous for the Rothlessburger (named for the Steelers Quarterback). It is a HUGE sandwich of pork sausage, hamburger, fried eggs, onions and peppers on a loooong sub roll. It takes forever to cook and serve so be patient. The Philly cheese steak sandwich is excellent.
But the service is slow at best, and when I've been there, I've seen walk-in's get served before those who were seated (or it seemed that way). Free refills on drinks. Prices are good, but the big sandwich is a little on the high side, but it is BIG. And Good!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just had Peppi's for lunch yesterday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Def a place all tourists should try! Peppi's subs are not for the health conscious, but they are good! Bring your appetite, and the price is great! Plenty of variety for everyone, I love the south philly, but there are so many to chose from! Several locations throughout Pittsburgh, so you can pretty much find one close to anywhere you may be staying in Pittsburgh. We have gone here several times, even ordering their subs for work lunches! Def will be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peppi's also viewed

 

Been to Peppi's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppi's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.