We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous sandwiches!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peppi's

Peppi's
927 Western Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15233
412-231-9009
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #126 of 1,895 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Family Fare
Good for: Dining on a budget
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous sandwiches!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

tasty, well made, right sized and right priced. Great lunch food.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The original Roethlisberger sandwich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Excellent and authentic.
2 sandwiches and 2 drinks, free refills,under 20$
We walked from the wyndham to 1721 penn ave.
Kind of long but safe walk.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good food, but the Western Ave location gets crowded!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

My first visit to the Western Ave Peppi's was back in 1997, and have been a return customer ever since. The food is good. Finding street parking can sometimes be a challenge, especially after they re-did the street & made few spaces by increasing the size between them.

If you go around lunchtime, it can be really crowded. My only complain is the layout - there's nowhere really to stand without blocking the aisle while waiting to order as it's right in the only route in/out of the restaurant.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Where's the beef?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

I used to love Peppi's but I was VERY disapponted at the 2 oz of steak on my sandwich. My husband and I just took the meat from half our sandwiches and put it all on one side and I swear it wouldn't even cover the bottom of the bun. Peppi's uses really good bread and the sandwich was good but I think they're feeling the crunch of the economy. We went to the Smithfield street location.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
332 helpful votes 332 helpful votes
“Peppi's is delish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Best hoagies in the Burgh! The Rothlesburger is delish! its better than the real thing!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peppi's also viewed

 

Been to Peppi's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppi's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.