We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Robinson Town Centre location - amazing!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buca di Beppo

Buca di Beppo
6600 Robinson Center Dr, Pittsburgh, PA 15205-4862
+1 412-788-8444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #639 of 1,924 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Family Fare, Pasta, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Robinson Town Centre location - amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We recently enjoyed a fantastic meal at this location during our hockey weekend. I had been emailing Nicole the week prior to set up a team dinner for the Saturday night. She was great to work with and was able to accomodate our requests and always got back to me promply. The service was great, the private room felt very homey, like you were in someone's dining room. We arrived to find the bread and salad already set on the tables, so everyone could dive right in. We were a group of over 50, so to have decent service was great. We had about 5 waitresses assigned to our group. The pizzas were delicious, nice thin crust and the spaghetti with meatsauce, amazing. If you're looking for a place for a group, I would book this in a heartbeat. With a bunch of kids, this place was perfect, kids could be loud and in a private room, didn't disturb anyone. Price point for a set meal was great since it included tax & tip.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    6
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great Maze of a Restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I met my friends at this restaurant, but it took me a while to find them (ha)! The place is a maze of a building, with dining room after dining room after dining room all leading to more dining rooms! But I finally found my friends near the kitchen, but not before I wondered if I had selected the wrong di Beppo!

Never mind, from the family-style portions, the great salad and the amazing pasta and bread, the dinner here was quite memorable. And what a great Italian-colored atmosphere. Great service and just look at the delicious photos!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“We won't return”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This restaurant used to be a destination for us during our visits to Pittsburgh. Unfortunately, our visit on Labour Day weekend did not meet our expectations and proved to me once again that it is important to heed the warnings and ratings on tripadvisor.

My wife was already skeptical of Buca di Beppo from prior visits, but I was able to convince her to return with the promise of ordering lasagna. Just my luck, the lasagna was sold out. What's worse, we weren't told until several minutes after we'd ordered. Shouldn't the server know that a main Italian staple is not on offer?? The same thing occurred when ordering dessert, no tiramisu. When the waiter returned with the bad news, he added "and don't order the cannoli either, because we're out of that, too." So, I'm 0 for 3 on the items that I wanted. Like, why not just put up the "closed" sign?

The seats we were given were covered in food particles from the previous diners, and we weren't offered bread like we had come to expect. Its doubtful that the shortage extended to bread, since adjacent tables were enjoying theirs.

There are lots of other eating establishments in the general vicinity. Try them instead.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucalove, Guest Relations Manager at Buca di Beppo, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Please accept our apologies for your experience. We have forwarded the information to management and would love to have someone reach out to you. Could you email us your contact information to mamacares@bucainc.com? We always appreciate opportunities to better serve our guests. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

First time we have dined there, the food comes family style and it is very good! Neat building right on the river!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton, Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Mmmmmmm.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Had a nice business dinner with clients. Very unique and nice atmosphere!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buca di Beppo also viewed

 

Been to Buca di Beppo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buca di Beppo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.