We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chaya Japanese Cuisine

Chaya Japanese Cuisine
2032 Murray Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15217 (Squirrel Hill South)
(412) 422-2082
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #452 of 1,924 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese
Neighborhood: Squirrel Hill South
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Squirrel Hill South
1 review
“Horrible food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We ordered chicken teriyaki, beef teriyaki and salmon teriyaki. Usually those teriyakis cant go wrong in jap rest but this tht the meat has no taste as its been soaked in the water.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Better sushi in a grocery store!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Have you ever bought sushi from a grocery store? You know the type, it comes in a plastic box with the soy sauce and wasabi in a packet. The rice is like one solid mass and the seaweed is chewy. That's exactly what this sushi was like, only worse. I think they prepare the rolls in advance. Couldn't say for sure as they wouldn't seat me at the sushi bar as it was closed???? Not sure what it was, perhaps the seaweed wrap that made it soooooo salty. Then the sashimi comes one piece at a time for $3.75 each and it's both small and bland. To top it off, they got my order wrong, that is they gave me a roll I didn't ask for. And yes, they charged me for it. Don't waste your money.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

First of all, I am a person who is very picky about their sushi and if I don't find it satisfactory then i never return. Let me tell you that I plan on returning several times. The atmosphere is great, it makes you feel like your in an authentic and traditional Japanese restaurant with everything made of wood, even the serving dishes.

To top it all off, the food is simply amazing. My girlfriend and I visited the restaurant after our favorite sushi chef in Oakland moved away, ever since we been searching for a new sushi restaurant and I honestly think our search has come to an end. They have any kind of sushi you can think of, if it isn't on the menu just ask, and the best part is that it is incredibly affordable.

The only thing i can think of to make this place better is to have it open more than 5 hours. It is kind of tough to get their between 5 and 9:30, but other than that I have no problems with Chaya and expect to be returning their in the near future.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“BEST restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

For my wife and me, CHAYA is the BEST restaurant in the world! Really.
We are world travelers and have tried many cuisines and categories of establishments, but the overall dining experience, quality of food, service, value, etc. is Chaya.

We absolutely love the sashimi and sushi at Chaya and all of the authentic Japanese food put together by Yasu -- the owner/chef!

Kampai!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Delicious sushi, beautiful presentation, friendly and attentive service, Japanese decor. The mochi ice cream was yummy, too (comes with one each: green tea and red bean). Love it!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chaya Japanese Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Chaya Japanese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaya Japanese Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.