We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Taste of India

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Taste of India
4320 Penn Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15224-1310
412-681-7700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #506 of 1,899 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: Indian, Vegetarian
Restaurant details
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“ok food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Very Average Indian fare. Food was on the spicy side.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Is this the same place?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

My experience could not be more different from the reviews I read. Service was slow and unprofessional. Food was tepid and bland. We had 2 vegetarian dishes- both were so so. The nan was very good and that was the only thing I liked. I will not try it again.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Would eat there weekly if money was no object...not that it's expensive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I visit Pittsburgh monthly, and this is one of two or three places that no matter how much I try and tell myself to "branch out and try new things," I never go wrong here. I usually order the Chicken Korma, but I've also tried their Chicken Tikka Masala and some of their lamb dishes. The naan is killer. I always try and tell myself "Oh, I have that at home, I'll pop some of that frozen Trader Joe's stuff in the oven and save a few bucks." The freshness is just never comparable. I don't know how they do it. I usually order take out, but I was there once for the buffet and was not disappointed. Service is always prompt and friendly. Their mango lassi's are also better than most. I really don't see the point of going to any other Indian restaurant; they have the best, period.
P.S. They just remodeled. I doesn't change much as far as I'm concerned; they just did the exterior and its the food I care about, but it does look nice.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A hidden treasure of Pittsburgh!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Taste of India is delicious food and extremely polite and helpful service for VERY reasonable prices. Lunch buffet is an especially good deal ($7.95 for all you can eat, with a drink included!). I've heard people say that the place has trouble attracting customers because the outside is not very flashy, but they're renovating now, so hopefully more people will discover it. Though the newly renovated inside of the restaurant is beautiful, classy and comfortable, it's totally acceptable to come casually dressed. (People visiting children at Children's Hospital across the street eat there pretty often, I think.) Everyone I've ever taken with me or recommended the place to has loved it. The restaurant accommodates comfortably large and small parties alike. It's always clean and the employees are always very kind and professional. I've been a loyal customer for years now (and a poor college student), and they never let me leave without giving free drinks or desserts to me or the whole party if it's not too big. They're too kind! I wish them many kind customers forever!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We have done take out and eat in at this small and comfortable spot; thouroughly enjoyed it each time.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of India also viewed

 

Been to Taste of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taste of India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.