We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beer Selection” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Roland's Seafood Grill

Roland's Seafood Grill
1904 Penn Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15222 (Strip District)
412 261 3401
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #377 of 1,899 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Strip District
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Beer Selection”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

The food is good, but the beer selection is great! They have a great patio view overlooking the action of the strip district.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    46
    21
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Towamencin Township
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Eh! No consistency”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This place is located in what's called "the Strip District". We had been here Feb 2012 and we were surprised that a seafood place was in landlocked Pittsburgh so we had to try it. That visit was a good one.
This time ... service was good ... food was poor.
I'm sure there is a better seafood place in Pitt but we have to find it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Shrimp like papier-mâché”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

A quick drop into the Strip District, noontime, a rainy day. A parking place. Do we head down the road to Benkovitz Seafoods or do we give Roland's a try? Inertia rules. Roland's.

Shrimp cocktail. Simple; take fresh or fresh-frozen shrimp, boil, chill, serve. The problem comes when the shrimp has been frozen, and thawed, and frozen again, and thawed... and turns into damp cotton-wool inside those lovely pink chitinous coats.

Roland's serves cotton-wool, not shrimp. If you don't take care with your basic foodstuffs, you'll be plating up rubbish, not food.

A chance at a good meal wasted -- we should have braved the rain and gone to Benkovitz.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Frequenter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Rolands is great! It's a wonderful neighborhood bar with great food (for the most part), great atmosphere, perfect people watching, and fantastic conversations!

My favorite bartender is Johnny the Irishman. He's quick witted, even faster with the drinks, and can tell a great story or lob a hilarious insult! What more could you want in a jeans/t-shirt type of establishment?

My favorite things to order are the margarhita pizza, the ahi on a ceasar salad (off menu), the lobster roll, and a few other things here and there. I would be in love with their bbq chicken pizza, but they DESPERATELY need to marinate the chicken in a seasoning before putting it on the pizza! Boiled chicken has never held anyone's tastebuds captive!

The people watching is second to none in Pittsburgh! You never know when you'll see a celebrity, a wildly inappropriate outfit, an exotic car, or Man-kini, the (I think) homeless man wearing heels, a sun hat, and a black bikini.

It's a great laid-back atmosphere with comfortable seating, a nice layout, clean bathrooms, and a convenient location.

I've been here with my boyfriend, with girlfriends, with colleagues, and even for a few business meetings. Rolands is appropriate for each!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Ny
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Seafood was excellent - raw oysters to lobster roll.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

If possible sit next to the bar - service from bartenders is fast & good conversation about the city.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roland's Seafood Grill also viewed

 

Been to Roland's Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roland's Seafood Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.