We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood was excellent - raw oysters to lobster roll.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roland's Seafood Grill

Roland's Seafood Grill
1904 Penn Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15222 (Strip District)
412 261 3401
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #367 of 1,899 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Strip District
Rochester, Ny
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Seafood was excellent - raw oysters to lobster roll.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

If possible sit next to the bar - service from bartenders is fast & good conversation about the city.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    46
    21
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Steak Salad! And comfortable atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Roland's may not be the place for everyone and their restrooms have been worked over hard, but the food was exceptional and there is a great choice of beers. In fact, the outdoor seating is great on a warm afternoon/evening.

I was very impressed with the quality of my steak salad -- high quality, well cooked meat, a few fries and possibly the crispiest lettuce on the salad i have ever eaten!!! Perhaps no coincidence they are a block away from the produce terminal -- regardless, I was impressed.

Rolands caters to alot of tastes, i saw pizza's and seafood that looked delicious -- everything seemed an upgrade in presentation and quality from what I recall from awhile back. Used to go there alot then ventured elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

At here after a day of walking around the Strip District. Place was packed all day long, so we figured we'd try it.
Bruschetta was great. Grilled swordfish was good. Beer was cold. Service was excellent.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfield, New Jersey
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Lively Atmosphere, Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We ate here the night we arrived in Pittsburgh. There were four of us, and everyone enjoyed their meals. The food's not gourmet, but it's good and very reasonably priced. The service was good, too. The place was busy, and seemed to be a popular local spot.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Just never gets better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We decided to give it, one more try, and wish we hadn't. How in the world a restaurant in the strip district, near remarkably good, fresh seafood, can serve such a failure, is arduous to comprehend. The salad was fresh, but mostly iceburg, the crab cake was 'inedible', the shrimps and scallops were 'over cooked', the salmon was 'raw' in the middle, the vegetables were 'undercooked' and the potatoes were 'extremely peppered'.
The good part, was the service, which was exceptional, from a college grad, but the hostess appeared angry at everyone.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roland's Seafood Grill also viewed

 

Been to Roland's Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roland's Seafood Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.