We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alla Famiglia delivers and lives up to it's reputation.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Centi Anni Alla Famiglia

Centi Anni Alla Famiglia
804 E Warrington Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15210-1560
412-488-1440
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 1,899 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Waynesburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Alla Famiglia delivers and lives up to it's reputation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Rarely does anything you expect to be excellent live up to expectations. We are life long Pittsburgh residents but had never been here before. The service was very good and the food exceptional. The portions were also extremely generous. We went with another couple to celebrate because the husband, my lifelong friend, just won a world championship in 50-54 yr old class of power lifting. He has a very large appetite and he couldn't finish his meal. I had the breaded veal chop topped with crab and it was to die for. This is the best Italian in Pittsburgh - better than Dish Osteria. Well worth the money.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    6
    2
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best in Pittsburgh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We moved to Pittsburgh from Philadelphia in August 08. We were hard pressed to find great Italian food until I was turned on to this place in late 09. The ambiance is great the waitstaff is pleasant and well informed. The food is beyond compare in this part of the state, and rivals the better Italian restaurants in Phila/Jersey/New York. I have sent at least 100 different people to this Resturant over the past 2/3 years and not one has been disappointed. Actually i receive many thank you calls for the recommendation. This place is #1 in the city, and I will continue to send business their way!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n.e.ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal-way better than ratings on T.A.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We used to think eating in little Italy in Cleveland was the best it gets for these parts (we are from Ohio but love Pitt.)..Well now we say little Italy where?? Here. Right here. Just go and disregard the lower rating of this place. We were recommended this place by a guy at the hotel we stayed in (Renaissance-great). He lives here and said it is pricey but worth it. True on both points- with emphasis on worth it! Calamari app was the bomb, then the mussels- perfectly done. Salads also done and dressed well. Hey its 2013 you know how many people eat at some type of Olive Garden joint and think its Italian, or a good value?? Yucch, no offense if thats you...we eat at home mostly- because homemade is way better. So if we like a place it has to beat home cooking, and I am willing to pay for that. Eating out should be an event, it used to be...well it is again- Here. Our waiter was excellent, wish we had seen the back room it looked pretty quaint w fireplace going...but we were just happy to get a table up front in this little house. Oh and our main courses were excellent... both had fish entrees- watched them made in front of us. We are bringing our adult kids here for a special family dinner in a few months...already thinking about it. Enjoy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Pittsburgh by far!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Alla Famiglia, while in a horrible neighborhood, is fine dining family style. Food is changed daily and is always fresh and delicious. The service is superior to anywhere else in the city! Highly recommended for a special night out! Would choose Alla Famiglia over other higher-priced options in the city (Lemont, Grand Concourse, etc.)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Somewhat of a disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Perhaps our expectations were too high, but this restaurant experience was less enjoyable than we had hoped. Parking attendant perhaps well-meaning, was essentially rude when we decided to park our own vehicle. Ambiance was nice, like something you might see in NYC, and we had hoped that the rest of the meal was excellent. But the strip steak was a lower quality than others we've had in good steakhouses, and the pasta in vodka sauce was nothing too special. It took forever to get our meal, and although the waiter was friendly, he explained that there was a large group eating there that evening, and after a while we thought they had forgotten about us. Seedy neighborhood. Overpriced. I don't think we'll be going back any time soon.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Centi Anni Alla Famiglia also viewed

 

Been to Centi Anni Alla Famiglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centi Anni Alla Famiglia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.