We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bravo Franco

Bravo Franco
613 Penn Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15222 (Downtown)
(412) 642-6677
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #844 of 1,873 restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Rostraver, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

The hostess greeted us, a party of nine, with a bad attitude. The décor in the restaurant is dated. Once seated, our waiter John did a nice job explaining the specials for the evening and taking our orders. The food was served with very large portions. Some members of our party enjoyed the meal while others could not eat it. My son ordered a NY strip steak which was huge but rare when he ordered it medium-well. As John walked by and saw the steak he apologized and offered to take it back to the cook. Over all just an average, overpriced meal with a cranky hostess.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

36% Recommend
    13
    17
    19
    13
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clarksburg, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Christmas meeting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

The pasta and meatballs were very good and the chicken was excellent.
The atmosphere was nice. The waitress was very attentive. They were out of most of the desserts and it was only 1PM. But be prepared to leave your coat in the coat room. Coats are not allowed to be on the back of the chairs.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, PA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, friendly staff and great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stopped in for dinner on our way to a show at the CLO. The staff was great. Jenna, our server, was attentive at the right time. Not intrusive, not doting, her timing was great. She was very friendly and took great care of us. I had chicken parm, my wife had a pasta dish and we shared an appetizer of the fried cheese. First things first: the appetizer arrived timely and was wonderful. The salad followed soon after, but not too soon. Then the entree after that. The chicken in my entree was fantastic!

Timing was great. We didn't feel at all rushed, nor did we wait. We will be back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“Little attention to detail”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

As a member of the food service industry, I can be a little picky. That being said, when you order oysters on the half shell the first thing done to the oyster is to wash the outside so the smell of rotting seafood doesn't go out to the table. Also I ordered my usual Oso bucco, now what I got was a delightful veal shank with one of the best barley rossotto's I have ever tasted, but IT WAS NOT WHAT I ORDERED. My waiter was a little to engaging, and a bit slovenly. I have had better meals in this restaurant in the past.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavares
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Choice After A Steeler Win!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We are from Florida and after sitting at Heinz field all day in 45 degrees we wanted a pasta dinner and a glass of good red wine! By chance we passed Bravo Franco and stopped in to review the menu, we liked what we saw and made a reservation for a few hours later. Upon returning the restaurant was quiet as it was Sunday evening and they were closing shortly. This did not hamper the service nor the quality of our meal, it was exactly what a group of cold Floridian's were looking for....the soups were delicious and the pasta was excellent and cooked perfect. Great spur of the moment find!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bravo Franco also viewed

 
Pittsburgh, PA
Pittsburgh, PA
 

Been to Bravo Franco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bravo Franco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.