We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guess that Restaurant Impossible makeover did not work” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Del's Bar & Restaurant

Del's Bar & Restaurant
4428 Liberty Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15224-1564 (Bloomfield)
412-683-1448
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #929 of 1,895 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Bloomfield
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Guess that Restaurant Impossible makeover did not work”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Still the same old Del's despite the attempted make over. Decor is updated and prices are reasonable. Too bad to, nice people.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    12
    9
    16
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great place for sitting outside on a nice day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were looking for a place with outdoor seating to enjoy a beautiful spring day. We had not fully reached the porch to enter the restaurant and were immediately greeted and seated by the lady owner, which we found very nice. We then ordered wine and appetizers. We promptly received our wine and were given two different types of bread to dip in an olive oil with herbs, which we enjoyed. Our appetizers did not take long and were pretty good. We had the stuffed mushrooms and the stuffed peppers. The cream sauce and crabmeat that accompanied the mushrooms were very tasty. The only negative about that dish was the mushrooms were slightly cold in the middle. The stuffed peppers were covered with a Marinara sauce that was sweet. I liked it but my husband is not a huge fan of sweet red sauces. We also ordered a canoli and a tiramasu; both were delicious. The service was friendly and prompt. Overall, we had a good experience and would go back again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Rest. Impossible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My family was in from out of state so we decided to try Del's again after not going there for the past 5 years due to poor service and bad food. Well, it is nice to see the service is still bad and the food got worse. This restaurant was on "Restaurant Impossible" and there was no magical turn around since the episode. There were 9 of us and we all ordered different meals and we all thought our meals were over priced and barely edible. The service was slow and the staff looked like they didn't care. It took over an hour and 15 minutes to get our soup or salad. The wedding soup was horrible and cold. The fettuccini Alfredo with Shrimp tasted like cold noodles with milk and oil poured over them. The shrimp tasted like a rubber band. I honestly can not say one thing positive about this restaurant. If you go please remember you were warned.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Please just close already. Or hire new management.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Cold food, brown lettuce, boisterous owner, slow waitstaff. The whole place was filthy. We found a meatball on the floor that even the drunken owner waddled by and wouldn't pick up. BIG mistake going to Dels.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good service, OK food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We met friends here and based on other reviews I was not expecting much. However, I found the atmosphere cozy, the service friendly and efficient, and the food, while not outstanding, was tasty. We were there on a very cold day, but in good weather there is out door seating. There is also a small parking lot. I only walked through the bar area, but it looked like a nice place to sit and have a drink. We walked through the Little Italy neighborhood after eating and visited bakeries and an Italian grocery store. Overall a pleasant experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Del's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Pittsburgh, PA
 

Been to Del's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Del's Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.