We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wild Boar Ravioli, Yum!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lidia's

Lidia's
1400 Smallman St Ste A, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-4306
(412) 552-0150
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Lidia's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #114 of 1,899 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 15th Street
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wild Boar Ravioli, Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Have only eaten wild boar a few times and it has been really good or really terrible: This was one of the really good. There were 4 large, thin ravioli with shredded meat on my plate, half of which I took home. When I awoke the next morning, I could not wait for lunch to eat the other two. Hubby had the fish and the sauteed spinach, also delicious. Enjoyed a great bottle of wine and found our waiter friendly & efficient. Warm atmosphere in browns and oranges. Will eat here again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    92
    54
    38
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Siesta Key, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Master Chef Judge Needed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

First, the positives. Our server, Lissa, was one of the best we have had anywhere. Very knowledgeable and just perfectly attentitive and responsive.
The Wine list virtually 100% Italian with a broad selection of regions and varieties. Don't worry, the servers know their wines and can help you make a perfect selection.
Now the bad news. The food was well below our expectations. The Pasta Trio sounded very appealing, but each component disappointed as being either overcooked, underseasoned, or lukewarm by the time it reached our table in a community batch distributed by floor runners.
The second dinner item was Scallops with Cannallini Beans over a Fennel puree. The scallops did not have a flavorful sear and the beans were dry and not saved by the puree which otherwise had a nice flavor.
It's doubtful that this food would have made even the Top 100 on Master Chef.
Unfortunately our wonderful past experience at Felidia in NYC did not translate over to Pittsburgh.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Pasta & Excellent Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We went to Lidia's for lunch on a Tuesday and all three of us decided to get "Lidia’s Pasta Tasting Trio". The meal consists of the chef's three specialty pasta dishes for that day along with a Caesar salad. We had melt in your mouth cheese filled ravioli's, rotini pasta with sauce made with pancetta (who wouldn't love pasta with bacon!), and spinach fettuccine with a pesto sauce and walnuts. We all loved everything except the fettuccine which was ok but not as good as the other two. This is an all you care to eat selection so they will continue to bring you pasta as long as you want it. Needless to say we were too full to try dessert.

The staff was great and more than willing to answer any questions we had. The menu may be a little overwhelming for anyone who is not familiar with Italian cooking. The facilities were very clean and elegant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Italian restaurant in Pittsburgh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

This is an excellent Italian in Pittsburgh. We had Salmon and Zuppa SeaFood. Both were excellent, as the service. Great wine list including American and Italian.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niagara falls
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

excellant service, food and manager this was our 2nd time traveling to Pittsburgh will come again...

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lidia's also viewed

 

Been to Lidia's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lidia's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.