We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Brunch, nice atmosphere and not to miss Tiramisu!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lidia's

Lidia's
1400 Smallman St Ste A, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-4306
(412) 552-0150
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Lidia's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #116 of 1,720 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Large groups, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 15th Street
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Brunch, nice atmosphere and not to miss Tiramisu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Visited the Strip District and enjoyed a very good Brunch. Buffet plus ala Carte entree and brunch style cocktail included. Very friendly staff. Certain to return when back in Pittsburgh.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    96
    63
    41
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I was ready to love Lidia's based on many reviews and friend's experiences. Our visit, on a Friday evening just before Christmas, was disappointing. The pasta trio special was average, honestly not any better than what I make at home - rigatoni with sausage, spaghetti with garlic and butter, and squash ravioli with no sauce. This came with a Ceasar salad, which I got with vinegar and oil dressing instead - it was so tart as to be inedible. Our guest was Swedish, and spoke excellent English, however, as there was no listing of the sauces on the menu, and the atmosphere at the full restaurant was loud, she had to ask the server to repeat several times. The server got annoyed, and let it show. This was rude. The other servers returned to the table often, asking to take away our plates before we were finished, making us feel rushed. And after choosing the valet parking, the next morning we found a large red scratch on our black truck. There were a few good points to this dinner - the wine list was extensive, the atmosphere was pleasant. One member of our party got gluten-free pasta, I was impressed that they had that option and she said it was good. The tirimisu that we brought home was excellent. However we probably will not return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Less impressed on third visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We had been to Lidia's twice before in the past eight years, so we were eagerly anticipating the return. Overall, our meal was just ok. We both found the portions to be overwhelming for a fine dining restaurant. This was a turn off. Our salads (arugula with Gorgonzola, pear and walnut) were way too big. The balance in the salads were also off - way too much white vinegar. The small amount of pear was not enough to counteract the acidity of the dressing, and the walnuts weren't candied but served raw. I ordered the lemon chicken, which was good. However, I received not one but two breasts. Again, this was too much. My husband did enjoy his boar ravioli which he said was cooked perfectly. We enjoyed the wine list as well, and the prices were lower than you might expect for fine dining. Our desserts - butterscotch pudding with a candied pear, and chocolate marscapone cake - were just the right size portions. Finally! Not sure that we would return again. We might try another establishment in town on our next visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“An excellent meal in comfortable surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

As we walked back to our hotel from the Strip, we went into the restaurant to make a dinner reservation. We were glad we did since there was only one table still available. When we arrived for dinner, we were quickly seated. We decided to try the famous pasta trio. When trying to decide whether to get a salad and dessert to go with it, the server suggested he split the salad for us. That was an awesome idea because the portion of salad that arrived for each of was as large or larger than what is usually served to one. It was also delicious. Rarely have I enjoyed a simple salad quite so much. The bread, too, was excellent though the toppings were not memorable.

The pastas arrived and moderate portions of each were served. We had a chicken and tomato, a pesto, and a mushroom ravioli. All were very good and the the ravioli was exquisite. We were offered additional pasta and could have had as much as we wanted. I found the original portion sufficient. My husband had sole possession of the dessert as he really likes tiramisu and I do not.

Service was very professional and attentive without being overwhelming. We really enjoyed our meal and would certainly return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pasta and more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Lidia's pasta is always delicious - give the daily lunch trio a try - all you can eat of three different types of pasta dishes served tableside. The weekend brunch is something to plan ahead for - reservations a must - and well worth it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lidia's also viewed

 

Been to Lidia's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lidia's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.