We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible service, bad food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Le Mont

Le Mont
1114 Grandview Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15211
412-431-3100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Mont is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #388 of 1,899 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Lower Burrell, PA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“terrible service, bad food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

There were 8 of us who went to the Le Mont for dinner on July 4th. It was busy because there are always great Pittsburgh fireworks that evening. We could not find our server all evening.
Half of our table ordered salads and half ordered soup. The salads came and were eaten. After asking for the soup 3 times, it arrived a half hour later. Some had the bisque and some had the French onion. They all said it was very salty. Then we waited another 35 minutes for our dinner and of course it all came right as the fireworks began! We had a variety of dinners, from steak to fish. Nobody liked their dinners. Potatoes all dried up, carrots undercooked. The best part of the dinner was the dessert or what was left of the desserts. They were out of two of the desserts. The desserts are not made at the restaurant, so I guess that is why they were good. Pleaded for coffee and when that finally arrived, our server did not bring the cream. By the time that came, all the coffee was cold. Never were asked if we wanted a refill. The only thing that save the evening was the beautiful view of Pittsburgh and the fireworks. None of us will ever go back to the Le Mont again. Our suggestion is to do a limited menu on such a busy evening and maybe things would run smoother. Beautiful restaurant and a great view with terrible service and food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    37
    31
    17
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Private Party, Shady Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I recently dined at Le Mont as part of a private event that was held in one of the back rooms. The wait staff was highly unprofessional and not what I would expect from a TGI Fridays, let alone a restaurant with a reputation like Le Mont. The three waiters were wearing dirty shirts that looked like they'd been cleaning dishes earlier in the day. Two of the three had a very rough demeanor that I would liken to a patron at a dive bar. One of them looked like he hadn't taken a shower in days and even had black grime under every one of his finger nails (while serving food). All of the individuals sitting at my table were absolutely disgusted.

I have visited Le Mont about a half dozen times over the last five years and each experience is worse than the last.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Had the opportunity to enjoy a truly old fashioned night on the town. It started with dinner at the Le Mont, sitting high above the city with an unequaled view. From the elegant decorations to table linens and service, this is what the term "Fancy" restaurant captures. The food and presentation were beyond compare. Dinner was paced at a relaxing speed allowing you to enjoy each segment of the meal while taking in the delightful view of the city.
Would highly recommend this venue.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Classic bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stopped here for cocktails and to enjoy the fabulous downtown Pittsburgh and river views. Will try to come back for dinner on a future visit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“View= amazing! Food & service= Disappointing!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I was at the Le Mont for a company luncheon last week and was excited to eat at the "famed" restaurant for the very first time. Upon entering, I was blown away by the stunning views of the city and opulent decor inside. It's definitely a fancy establishment, somewhere you'd go for a big celebration. My group was of about 150 people and there were 5 menu options, of which I chose the chicken bruschetta. The first course was a salad with a vinaigrette dressing and it was delicious, but wasn't very visually appealing. The servers were all men, and were not very friendly and threw each dish down as if they were in a hurry to go take a cigarette break. They weren't very professional. When my entrée came out, I wasn't very impressed. The presentation was better than the first course, but it was very bland and similar to banquet food you could get anywhere-- but I'm sure my company had paid a pretty penny for that chicken dish. I didn't eat the meal, only 3 or 4 bites, and was looking forward to the dessert. It was ice cream with a cookie-like topping and it was tasty. Overall, it was an underwhelming experience. If you're looking for a nice place to eat in the city, might I suggest the Grand Concourse instead. The Le Mont was lacking friendly service and poor quality food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Mont also viewed

 

Been to Le Mont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Mont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.