We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice casual dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joe Mama's Italian Deluxe

Joe Mama's Italian Deluxe
3716 Forbes Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15213-3409 (Central Oakland)
412-621-7282
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 1,899 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Central Oakland
Ft Wayne, IN
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice casual dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Four of us recently enjoyed a nice, casual dinner at Joe Mama's. Service was good, even as the restaurant got busier while we were there. Entrees included steak, pasta, and a chicken dish. Portions were just right.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    39
    17
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Processed brunch”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I am not sure why this restaurant is popular- maybe their dinner food is better. We went for an all-you-can-eat brunch which cost around $15/person. The food was nothing to write home about. The cinnabuns, coconut macaroons, croissants, and all other pastries were cold and tasted like they came straight out of a package from Walmart. The piece of french toast I had was runny and under-cooked. There was a bowl of squash/zucchinis but they were drenched in an oil that made them slimy. I also tried the three cheese tortellini which tasted store bought as I swallowed it down with bitter coffee. Overall, the restaurant was darkly lit and sticky. The food was all processed and tasted like it was taken out of packaging and heated up rather than actually cooked. There were few people in the restaurant while there was a line out the door to get into the place across the street (we didn't want to wait in the cold). Moral to the story: you get what you pay for.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karmiel, Israel
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Vey good Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Every year during my visits to Pittsburgh I cannot miss dinner at this restaurant. I consider it as the best Italian restaurant in the city

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Love Joe Mama's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Fourth time at Joe Mama's and will keep going back. Very accommodating for our large crowd of 13. Herb chicken penne is fabulous. Mac and cheese is also delicious. Only thing that we haven't enjoyed is the pizza but this is a very small part of the menu so if you are looking for pizza this may not be the place for you. Food is always good, hot and the service is always great

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Nice service, quaint atmosphere, ok food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Late night dinner was just ok. Sauce tasted like it had been frozen and not fully defrosted when it was served. Full bar, average Italian food, nice waitstaff, bathrooms are located in the basement and they are funky at best.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Mama's Italian Deluxe also viewed

 

Been to Joe Mama's Italian Deluxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe Mama's Italian Deluxe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.