We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joe Mama's Italian Deluxe

Joe Mama's Italian Deluxe
3716 Forbes Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15213-3409 (Central Oakland)
412-621-7282
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 1,899 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Central Oakland
Hilliard, Ohio
1 review
“Love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I love Joe Mamas's. I eat here every trip to Pittsburgh. The atmosphere is retro, the food and drinks are wonderful, and great service. Everyone I bring here loves it.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    39
    17
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ny
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Home Cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Great place to get a good meal. Generous portions and the prices were very reasonable. Staff friendly and helpful. I wish I lived nearby so I could return again and again.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian @ University of Pitt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Joe Mama's is always on my list of places to go when visiting my daughter at Pitt. The restaurant is a short walk from campus and the food is consistantly good. We stoppped for lunch last weekend and the service was excellent by our server Rachel. If you go there, try the meatballs or one of the italina sausage dishes. The walls of the restaurant are covered with autographed pictures of sports and entertainment stars. Good food, good service and cheap prices make Joe Mama's a must stop while visiting Pittsburg.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, New York
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great food! Excellet Service! Was one of my favorite places in college to eat! Would recommend this to anyone!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, NY
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lots of Hype - Won't Go Back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Everyone recommends this place. Why? I have no idea because the service was slow, the waitress was crabby, and the food was barely edible. My son ordered the Chicken Prosciutto Parmesan and I ordered the Eggplant Parmesan. His meal was overcooked and dry, and my eggplant must have been frozen, with no flavor and actually "cool" temperature... Uggh! Never again...

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Mama's Italian Deluxe also viewed

 

Been to Joe Mama's Italian Deluxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe Mama's Italian Deluxe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.