We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good chinese food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of China Palace

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
China Palace
5440 Walnut St, Pittsburgh, PA 15232-2230 (Shadyside)
412-687-7423
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #700 of 1,899 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Lunch
Neighborhood: Shadyside
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good chinese food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Good food, nice atmosphere and convenient location in Shadyside. It is a good Sunday night out for Chinese kind of place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
CT
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent value and great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

While in town to visit CMU we went down to Walnut Street and had a fantastic dinner at China Palace. The service was excellent and the food fantasic. If you are in the mood for chinese, I would highly recommend going to China Palace!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nothing stands out as being particularly good or bad.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I've been here a few times and every time I know what to expect. It is very good value, and the food is fine. That being said, it is just your typical Chinese restaurant. I simply can't find anywhere where this restaurant stands out from any other place. There is nothing wrong with it, and the food is good. It is just a decent place to go in Shadyside. I would like to lean to the better side of average (3.5) if I could. I've been to some Chinese restaurants that were very bad, so it is important to note that the quality of the meal here was above average. I guess if you want a safe bet, reasonable cost, and expedient meal then this place fits the bill. Just don't expect to be wowed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Good option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

China palace is a pretty good option in Walnut street. The lunch on weekdays is well priced at about $6-8. The same items become about $12 in the night and on weekends. Service is prompt and as other reviews say, the best part is the hot tea - that helps a lot in the freezing winter.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very good Chinese food in Shadyside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The reviews seemed to be mixed on this little Chinese restaurant on Walnut Street in Shadyside, so I went in skeptically hopeful. I can honestly say that I was very pleased with every aspect of the meal. Service was fast and friendly, the pot of hot tea was perfect for a cold February evening, and the entrees were simply delicious. My wife and I shared an order of cheese wontons for an appetizer; they were good not great. Same could be said of the egg roll. Where they truly shined (on top of the service) was in the main course. The General Tso's chicken and honey chicken were some of the best we've had, and the portions were quite generous. If you find yourself on Walnut Street with a hankerin' for Hunan, this is the place to go!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Palace also viewed

 

Been to China Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.