We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favorite local restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Getaway Cafe

Getaway Cafe
3049 Sussex Ave, Ste 1, Pittsburgh, PA 15226-2564
412-343-1333
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #670 of 1,854 restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A favorite local restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Food is very good here, especially the chicken quesadillas ( my personal favorite). They pay attention to customers' likes and dislikes. They recently tried a new salsa and when customers preferred the old , they went back to it. The servers are nice and friendly, portions good sized and a casual, relaxing atmosphere. The desserts are really good but we rarely have room for any. The dining rooms and bar are separate. Also a nice place for a small party or shower.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

53% Recommend
    5
    3
    1
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“reliable, comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Going to the Getaway is like going home-- you know you will get a good meal, reasonable price, friendly service. And the desserts are out-of-this-world!!!! Whether it's breakfast, lunch or dinner, you can't go wrong.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Getaway...for some fun!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Getaway to a neighborhood café with a relaxing atmosphere that offers a great menu, delicious homemade favorites, incredible desserts and a full-service bar with excellent service. The Getaway is a family owned, friendly and comfortable place where you can get together with friends and have a great meal... or tasty appetizers while you watch the game or enjoy live music. There is PLENTY of seating, in addition to the dining room and bar there is a large "back room" for gatherings and seasonal outdoor seating. The food and service is consistently good, thanks to a great team.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Great family run restaurant in the South Hills of Pittsburgh.
Nice atmosphere, especially for the sports fan.
The food was fantastic, presentation excellent.
The best wings in Pittsburgh.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Wish I could report better of this family owned restaurant on Sussex at McNeilly Rd in the near South Hills. Tonight we went for the 3rd time for dinner, and both of us agreed it will be our last.

No one greeted us at the door, but there was a sign posted at the dining room entrance which read: "This Section Closed." There were several older people, sort of clustered at tables in that area, so after a few minutes of waiting, I asked one of the diners if it was a private party, and she stated that she didn't think so. We continued to stand there. My sig/oth suggested we eat in the bar, but I had decided to wait them out, just to see what would happen. After 7 minutes, during which no one else entered the building, a young lady appeared and said, "Dinner for two?" Honestly, she acted as if we had just walked in!

The service only went downhill from there. We waited another 5 minutes for a drink order to be taken, and when it arrived, our beer was lukewarm. After another prolonged wait, our dinners arrived and-- to be honest-- my other half enjoyed his Chicken Stirfry. Portions here are really quite generous, however it's not easy to get excited about that when the food you receive is not even what you ordered! I ate mine anyway, even though it was covered in a tasteless marinara sauce which I loathe. By this time we were tired and just wanted to get out of there. No telling how long a re-do would have taken!

Tab for 2 with beer @$42.00. No adjustment was made to the check. Staff is basically ill-trained and Management seems unsuited to the restaurant business.

The Getaway Cafe is a very casual place, and nothing special in the looks department either, but they do have a nice patio if you go when the weather is fair. Only thing is, the great "Amel's" is right across the street, so why subject yourself to this place if you don't have to? You deserve much better. "Amel's" IS much better.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Getaway Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Getaway Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Getaway Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.