We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pittsburgh Fav!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Robert Wholey's

Robert Wholey's
1711 Penn Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15222 (Strip District)
412-391-3737
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 1,899 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood
Neighborhood: Strip District
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Strip District
Kentucky
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“A Pittsburgh Fav!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I have dined at Wholey' on several occasions and will always make this a stop while in the burgh! The seafood selection is amazing, prices are reasonable. The Sushi bar is excellent!! Andy the Sushi guy is always having fun with the customers and he makes excellent Sushi!! The sandwiches are also excellent but I try to avoid fried foods. The Lobster Mac & Cheese is a must try for sure!! All the soups are spot on!! It is a unique dining experience with great food. Expect a real fish market atmosphere including the rustic fish market smell....but try the Sushi and other food items....you will enjoy it!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    33
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic fish sandwiches!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is a great place to grab a fish sandwich after a morning exploring the Strip District! Counter service only but a great value for delicious fish- the sides are tasty too!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerman, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I was in town visiting family and they took me to wholeys to try there fish sandwich, it was the best. I havent had it in a long time since i moved away but it still is the same.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bethlehem, PA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing fresh seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I have been to Wholeys in the past, but I have never eaten there until a few weeks ago. Now, I have made the hour and a half trip there twice in the last three weeks. The first trip included our whole family and my parents where we ordered a little bit of everything. Fish sandwiches are awesome. I got a shrimp po boy that was out of this world. I tried the crab cakes, seafood bisque, clam chowder, lobster Mac and cheese, and fish. Everything was delicious and very affordable. I went back to have their famous whaler which contains 1 pound of fresh fish on a bun. It was excellent and enormous. Then, we went to the market to take home live Maine lobsters for $5.98 a pound (wow!), live muscles, and fresh Cajun flavored catfish. Amazing meal for lunch and an amazing meal for dinner. Awesome place.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Every time I am in Pittsburgh, my wife and I take a trip to the Strip district. One of our favorite stops is Wholey's fish market. Great selection, good prices, and the best lobster roll this side of downeast Maine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robert Wholey's also viewed

 

Been to Robert Wholey's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Robert Wholey's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.