We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LIKE BEING AT THE OCEAN!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Robert Wholey's

Robert Wholey's
1711 Penn Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15222 (Strip District)
412-391-3737
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 1,874 restaurants in Pittsburgh
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood
Neighborhood: Strip District
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Strip District
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“LIKE BEING AT THE OCEAN!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This place is the BEST for fish sandwichs! So fun to ...to see all the varities of fish downstairs. All the locals know anout this place but whenever a visiter comes to the BUrgh try really hard to make it to the Strip to get a fish sandwich.You'll be back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    56
    25
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Weekly Stomping ground”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I love Wholey's because of the variety of fresh seafood and other meats they offer. I like that when you spend $150 you get a free coupon for a fish sandwich. They offer what they sale in their take out section and it is good and you get a lot.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sala, Västmanlands Län, Sweden
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best Fish Sandwitch and sushi in the Burg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This place dishes up the best fish sandwitch and sushi in pittsburgh. In case you don't know there's a huge reason for this. This place is also pittsburgh's largerst seafood market and distributor. They literally have fresher seafood than any other place in Pittsburgh. If you eat seafood at another resteraunt, there's a really good chance it came from Wholey's.

Down side to eating here is it's not really a resteraunt. They have a place to sit down and eat your food but it's not that nice. You are in a grocery store.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Love....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We walk to Wholey's or by it every day. We stop in to pick up items for dinner or pick up premade items to add to our dinner. Most recently we bought a couple of Lobster tails and added them to a salad. The day before we had their Lobster / Crab Bisque. It was wonderful!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My oh my”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My mouth waters think about their cod sandwich. The quality is just as good as when I was a child. A must eat whenever I visit my hometown.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robert Wholey's also viewed

 

Been to Robert Wholey's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Robert Wholey's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.