We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Italian cuisine in the Shadeyside neighborhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Girasole Restaurant

Girasole Restaurant
733 Copeland St, Pittsburgh, PA 15232 (Shadyside)
+1 412-682-2130
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #158 of 1,899 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Shadyside
Description: Girasole, meaning "sunflower" in Italian, is a unique family restaurant in Pittsburgh blending old world charm with an innovative, modern menu.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian cuisine in the Shadeyside neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful little restaurant tucked in the lower floor of an old building. Wonderful flavors applied to traditional dishes. Delightful antipasto started our meal, with standard fare nicely presented. Full of regulars the place is buzzing and vibrant, so don't come here for a quiet meal. Cozy seating with about a dozen tables and a few tables outside translate into a wait if you don't call ahead. Polenta with Escarole was delicious and light. Spinach and Ricotta ravioli in a light cream sauce was a delight. Ricotta Cavatelli with lamb meatballs was nicely seasoned. Tiramisu as authentic as any you will find outside of Italy. One appetizer, four entrees, two desserts and four glasses of wine =$144 plus tip. We enjoyed great service, but heard others grumbling. The owner Pi and his staff work hard, and given the tight quarters, you will need to manage your expectations. All in allagreat place to visit and enjoy a great Italian meal.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    33
    11
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, even better service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I always try to eat here when in Shadyside. Quaint olde world Italian food and atmosphere. The staff is always super friendly. Had lunch there today. One order of scallops over roasted tomato risotto (outstanding) and an order of gnocchi with fresh mozerella and lamb meatballs. The salad that comes with the meal is wonderful- very fresh and artisinal. The restaurant is always pleasantly crowded and lively. A must if you are in the area!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great service excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were in town to visit CMU and had dinner here one evening. The place was very busy and we received excellent service. My husband had the sausage and ziti, son the fettuccine with bolognese and I had cocoa pasta. We also had the bailey's gelato for dessert which was superb.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great vibrant place, wonderful food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife and I have visited Girasole's several times and each time it has been consistently great food. The atmosphere is very loud and lively, but not in a raucous way. Service is very good, and it was a delight not to be harried along your meal by the wait staff looking to turn over the tables briskly as is the case in so many small busy venues. Call ahead to either reserve or get on the 'list' as you will not get a table if you just show up (at least you won't in the evenings, I'm not sure about lunch). The food is simply delicious, and the prices are quite reasonable. In fact, I think they may have even come down since I first went there.
One last tip: If you are craving the food but either can't get a reservation or don't want to eat in house, they actually have take-out. We phoned in an order one night and picked it up an hour later and it was of course every bit as good. I don't know if this is a regular thing that is offered, or if we just lucked out but worth a try nonetheless.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldiepittsburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Italian Food In Pittsburgh Shadyside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great italian food! What I like about this place is they give you a great salad with your pasta.
They have the best soups too! Try the house made lemon cake for dessert. Yum!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Girasole Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Girasole Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Girasole Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.