We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decadent breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pamela's

Pamela's
5527 Walnut St, Pittsburgh, PA 15232-2350 (Shadyside)
(412) 683-1003
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 1,874 restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Neighborhood: Shadyside
Poughkeepsie, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A decadent breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Our guide brought us to Pamela's for breakfast and we were glad of it. Its a very unassuming place, with a neighborhood diner feel. The food is definitely "comfort food" with some twists. They are apparently famous for their pancakes, so we had to have them. They are unusual, large and thin with a crunchy edge. Almost like a crepe. I had the banana/chocolate chip which turned out to be the pancakes wrapped around a warm banana/chocolate filling plus whipped cream. They were not exactly what I pictured, but delicious all the same. Don't bother going there if you are on a diet.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    181
    67
    34
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Crispy Pancakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The Pamela's in Millvale is our favorite breakfast spot. The big LIncoln is more than most can eat. Their Lyonaze potatoes are the best (home fries with onions). And their thin pancakes are crispy at the edges and almost like crepes. Cash only though!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in Town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Hotcakes are the best!!!! Try "The Morning After", with chorizo sausage and eggs. Never a disappointing meal.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Breakfast on a Monday morning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We were visiting our college aged daughter, who lives in Shadyside, first visit. Since it was about 10am on a Monday, there was no wait. We've tried the one in Squirrel Hill. I liked this one better, seemed roomier and cleaner. Large omelettes and big sausage patties. Everything was hot. Great coffee, left a pot at our table then I noticed on the menu, pots of coffee are $1.99 per person. First time I had ever seen that. We are having a large party/family coming in April. We will be bringing them here. Service was great and food was delicious.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clairton, PA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Perfect Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Breakfast the way it should be served until 3:00pm at a reasonable price and great service. My wife and I have breakfast here on a regular basis and we've never been disappointed. Just a casual sort of breakfast spot with a 50s-throwback decor. Reminds you of the old diners from the 50s and 60s: tasty, short-order fare.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pamela's also viewed

 

Been to Pamela's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pamela's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.