We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful sushi!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Umi

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Umi
5849 Ellsworth Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15232 (Shadyside)
(412) 362-6198
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Umi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #399 of 1,924 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Shadyside
Cross street: College Avenue
Cooper City, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful sushi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

The place to have sushi! Have enjoyed the wonderful fresh sushi the past few visits. The only sushi resturant in Hendersonville NC and the price is right! A must do!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    9
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Overrated.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

For all of the hype, we expected something terrific. The waiter was condesending and treated us like we were highly uneducated because we did not understand every item on the menu. He discouraged us from ordering several different items that we wanted and made suggestions that we did not enjoy. If you want a unique, amazing meal... try tamari. This was overall a terrible expirence, no plans to return.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi. Excellent service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We were in Pittsburgh house hunting and checked out umi on a recommendation. It was awesome. The sushi was some of the best I have eaten. Our server was a great host. He really knew his stuff and guided us through an awesome experience. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Aborted”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Based on other reviews I wanted to try Umi. I walked in early without a reservation and the sushi bar was completely empty. The host was arrogant, condescending and generally a dong so I left without eating. Perhaps my experience was singular but it will be a long time until I walk into that establishment again. I have no objection to a $50 per person minimum at the bar but life is too short to experience the disrespect thereto forthcoming.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Who said Pittsburgh does not have world class restaurants?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

My wife and I are foodies and sushi lovers. I have been to many great sushi places in at least 3 continents. I must say Umi, under the watchful eyes of Mr. Shu is the best. The food is carefully prepared and beautifully presented. We like to sit at the bar and ask Mr. Shu to feed us (Chef Omikasi). You will taste heaven. Unfortunately this is not a cheap event. Be prepared to pay a lot of $$....

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umi also viewed

 

Been to Umi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Umi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.