We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small with OK food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Franklin Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Franklin Inn
2313 Rochester Rd, Pittsburgh, PA 15237-7503
412-366-4140
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,090 of 1,899 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Small with OK food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Small establishment. The food was just OK. Drinks are VERY expensive.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    8
    5
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Recommended by many-- will not return”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

After being recommended to go here by multiple coworkers my husband and I tried it out. First the margaritas were well over priced-- and my virgin one was the same price as his with booze! They were tequila and sour mix-- nothing else. I'll go to Mad Mex for margaritas any day over here. The chips and queso were good-- salsa was lacking though. Our meals were good, and ok priced. Nothing to write home about. Nothing was really wrong with our food, it was just blah. For the drive and price we won't be returning.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Ok- But there is better Mexican in the North Hills”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

First, wait times can be a bit long as the restaurant has less than 20 tables.

The food is solid, but not spectacular and portions can be small compared to others. Price of the food feels right, but $8 for a house Margarita is way overpriced.

I say this isn't a bad choice but I think yup are better off at Patron, El Campesino or Emiliano's within the North Hills!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McCandless
1 review
“Are u Flipin Kiddin? - go to Taco Bell to eat then F Inn for a drink”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Famous for years, great Margaritas - but what a rip! Twice now, (shame on me) I got a taco meal to go. maybe - (stretch) one teaspoon of beef on tacos. two tablespoons of rice. with meal (good salsa - I put that side and the side salad on tacos to make them "something")

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Margaritas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

The Franklin Arms has Margaritas to die for, we've never had better.

Food is excelllent , but attention to detail is lacking - cold beans that are returned in the messy original plate after zapping in the microwave is totally unacceptable. Slip ups like this need to be dealt with more professionally and made into a positive experience instead of a 'care less' approach.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franklin Inn also viewed

 

Been to Franklin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franklin Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.