We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Brunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Concourse

Grand Concourse
100 West Station Square Drive, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-1138
+1 412-261-1717
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Grand Concourse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #44 of 1,899 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: $41 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: East Carson Street
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Easter Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We dined at the Grand Concourse for Easter Brunch. Without request, we were seated in the River Room at the windows. Wonderful. The restaurant was fully prepared for the large number of diners; wait staff was plentiful, and there was always someone cleaning stations and attending to details of presentation. I am not a buffet person, but for the Grand Concourse, I always make an exception. The food was excellent, with many varieties to please even the most discriminating diners. The omelet/pancake/French toast station was very popular, but the line moved quickly and the omelet chef was friendly and courteous. He did a great job accommodating everyone's requests.
The selection of children's desserts was a delight to the youngsters attending; made them feel special, I would imagine. The adult desserts were varied, and chocolate was the key word of the day. Beautifully done. Coffee at the end of the meal was piping hot; an added plus for me. I would not hesitate to ever go back to the Grand Concourse either for dinner or a special occasion brunch. Well done and kudos to the staff and establishment.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    110
    48
    34
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Top Notch Server”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The atmosphere was great with the piano music,extreme ceiling heights and great Pittsburgh city view. However the best part of the experience was our server, Herbert. He is top notch - ten star rating for him.
Food quality could have been better - hence 4 star overall.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed this time.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We brought 9 out-of-town guests who love railroad history to the Grand Concourse. We were seated at 9 pm but not served dinner until 10:30. If the food had been up to its normal quality, the wait would have been worth it but the pasta was a solid clump and the cauliflower was like a rock. The filet was perfect and the lamb lollipops very good but it was not enough to save the evening for the group. Maybe they were short on staff the night before Easter, even though it appeared that there were more servers than patrons. What happened to our favorite place?

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Easter Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had a wonderful Easter breakfast with a family of 10 (3 kids) at Grand Concourse. The boys loved the train pictures and the 3 trains that passed by outside (must have soundproof windows- not a peep). They even had an Easter bunny hopping around giving out little stuffed bears! The buffet was over and beyond with prime rib, lamb, salmon, shrimp, and your traditional breakfast foods. Our vote for the best though was the fresh donuts from the donut maker- amazing!! Strongly recommended for any special occasion.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsbugh
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Very good and elegant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The food was excellent and the atmosphere is very elegant. We went here for a special occasion and were not disappointed. We did have a trainee waiting on us, but a veteran did a good job of stepping in when the trainee slipped up.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Concourse also viewed

 

Been to Grand Concourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Concourse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.