We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Concourse

Grand Concourse
100 West Station Square Drive, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-1138
+1 412-261-1717
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Grand Concourse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #44 of 1,721 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $41 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: East Carson Street
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The scenery is so pretty. IT's a wonderful restaurant. Beautiful view and amazing food. It is a must go to restaurant if you want a nice evening out!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    120
    53
    39
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hyattsville, Maryland
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place, Decent Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Grand Concourse is really a beautiful place to have a meal. The building itself is rather elegant and intimate. Everyone from the hostess to the coat check person to the waiters were pleasant, kind and attentive.
The food was decent, but nothing that I'll remember forever. My girlfriend ended up sending her soup back, as it was really rather salty. I had pretty decent luck with the food I ordered and was satisfied. All in all a decent meal. Not spectacular, but just fine and not at all a bad experience. If I'm being honest, my advice to someone would be, "Yeah, definitely give them a try. Just proceed with caution when it comes to the soups as my experience was a sodium-rich one".

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very upscale.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This restaurant serves excellent food. Variety of choices. Restaurant itself is a little noisy, just like the grand concourse at a rail station would be, but tables are spread out enough that after the first few minutes, the noise isn't an issue. Located across the river from downtown Pittsburgh and next to Station Square, a small shopping mall with some unique stores, and very close to a Sheraton hotel.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful brunch experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

I loved everything about this restaurant. The inside of the restaurant is elegant and romantic. The service was fast, very attentive, and friendly. The brunch was absolutely delicious. I and two others tried a little of most things and did not find anything we did not like. With drinks and brunch for three, we paid about $35 a person with tip but it was beyond worth it. Also, every time you venture out to try more, you will find your napkins refolded and your drink refilled making it an even more pleasurable experience. I highly recommend this restaurant for a nice meal or even a special event.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Excellent Thanksgiving Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I was in Pittsburgh for the Thanksgiving holiday and we booked a family dinner at the Grand Concourse. The building is beautiful and is a great location in the city for a special occasion.

Overall, I was pleasantly surprised by the food quality and options at the Thanksgiving buffet. They had a traditional Thanksgiving buffet. The turkey was very well prepared (it was very moist & juicy) and all the sides were excellent. The sides (i.e. mashed potatoes, stuffing, and veggies) were plentiful and well prepared. They had a good variety of desserts - pumpkin pie was a favorite.

My main criticism is that we had a reservation for 7 pm. The restaurant could have done a better job managing the times allocated for table seating. We were not seated until around 7:40 pm because the people booked before us had not left the table. I would have expected the restaurant to do more to open up the table sooner and closer to our actual reservation time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Concourse also viewed

 

Been to Grand Concourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Concourse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.