We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Thanksgiving Buffet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Concourse

Grand Concourse
100 West Station Square Drive, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-1138
+1 412-261-1717
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Grand Concourse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #48 of 1,924 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $41 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: East Carson Street
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Excellent Thanksgiving Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I was in Pittsburgh for the Thanksgiving holiday and we booked a family dinner at the Grand Concourse. The building is beautiful and is a great location in the city for a special occasion.

Overall, I was pleasantly surprised by the food quality and options at the Thanksgiving buffet. They had a traditional Thanksgiving buffet. The turkey was very well prepared (it was very moist & juicy) and all the sides were excellent. The sides (i.e. mashed potatoes, stuffing, and veggies) were plentiful and well prepared. They had a good variety of desserts - pumpkin pie was a favorite.

My main criticism is that we had a reservation for 7 pm. The restaurant could have done a better job managing the times allocated for table seating. We were not seated until around 7:40 pm because the people booked before us had not left the table. I would have expected the restaurant to do more to open up the table sooner and closer to our actual reservation time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    120
    53
    39
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Allison Park, PA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The ambiance is wonder the service is terrible the price is High”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our family had dinner here between Christmas and New Years. The food was very good as is the ambiance. The service was 3rd class which is not what we expected. Sat at our table forever before someone showed up, waited a long time to order, sat with empty plates waiting and waiting for a check...Not good!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Brunch Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Never been here for dinner, so I can't judge that. But if you're looking for brunch in Pittsburgh, splurge and go to the Grand Concourse. It is amazing. Traditional breakfast fare on a buffet, a carving station, a omelette/french toast/pancake station, and all the desserts you could possibly want. And they are all amazing. But in my opinion, the highlight of the experience is the fresh donut maker in the bar area. You grab a fresh hot donut and dip it into cinnamon and sugar. They're amazing. You won't be disappointed by this brunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadville, PA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Ambiance Spectacular, food average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were at the Grand Concourse on a busy holiday weekend. We were taken immediately to our table because we had a reservation. The wait staff was friendly. We attended the Sunday Brunch. The dining room is beautiful and the view is exceptional if seated in that area. The donut machine was really cool and the donuts delicious. They also had a large selection of hot foods at the buffet. My friend is handicapped and there are no accomodations for this. We asked if someone from the staff could accompany her to hold her plate but the hostess said they were too busy. That was awkward. Some of the serving trays were empty and not immediately replaced. The pasta dish was cold. It was worth the money but nothing outstanding......except the donuts!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We went to the Grand Concourse for NYE dinner. We asked to be seared on the porch. the tablese were sat at was extremely lopsided. the silverware was sliding off the table onto my lap. we asked to be moved to another table. The new table was also slanted but less so. That is until the dish that was holding the table in place was moved by one of our feet.
Four of the 5 people I was with ordered the same meal, which on the menu said it came with 'twin medallions'. When our meals arrived we each had only one medallion on our plates. We asked the waiter why there was only one and not 'twin' medallions. He brought the manager over to us and explained that 'last year we served two medallions that were a smaller portion. This year we are only serving one. We'll have to fix the menu.' Nothing was done to make up for their mistake. They simply expected that it was ok to serve us something other than what we ordered and expected.
The waiter was pleasant, attentive, and made our experience less...disappointing.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Concourse also viewed

 

Been to Grand Concourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Concourse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.