We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in the Rough” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spice Island Tea House

Spice Island Tea House
253 Atwood St, Pittsburgh, PA 15213-4052 (Central Oakland)
(412) 687-8821
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 1,895 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Lunch
Neighborhood: Central Oakland
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Gem in the Rough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

The outside appearance of Spice Island Tea House may turn some folks away, and if so they have missed out on a pure gem of a restaurant. A mix of Pan-Asian dishes that are off-the-charts great. The place is always full of diners - which should tell you something right away. Inexpensive and a pure delight.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    23
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“charming and tasty little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

charming and funky little place with a great tea list and delicious food. service was good and prompt, and the staff seemed happy to answer questions about the menu. my pad thai was delicious, and my husband thoroughly enjoyed his mango pork curry. their dining room is small, and can be crowded for dinner. dining early can help avoid the crowds.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We got take out the other day. An appetizer of Chicken Satay (2 skewers with peanut sauce $5.00). Have had better. Grill marks look like they were made with a hot iron and chicken was hard where the iron pressed into the flesh.

The Ever Famous Pad Thai $10.00, was too oily and had a pinkish hue. It came with chicken and shrimp. The chicken was okay. The shrimp (you get 7 inch size shrimp) had veins in 4 out of 7 pieces. I had a lean cuisine with shrimp the same size and not one had a vein. The shrimp should be at least medium size. They look like the ones that are canned and it is a sin for a restaurant to serve them with the veins. Gross!!!

We also ordered the coconut jasmine rice as a side. It came with 5 slivers of toasted coconut on top. Just ok. Had a sour coconut flavor.

This place got great reviews for the most part. My expectations were high. Sadly, I am disappoint.

Oh, when I phoned in the order, the lady who answered didn't speak english well and I had a hard time understanding her. Perhaps they should let the americans they hire to answer their phones for better communications. The dining room was small but twice as big as Nicky's thai on the north side.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Unique!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Like having a meal in a foreign country! I was a little put off by the rustic decorations and setting but I noticed how busy the restaurant was. I'm SO GLAD we tried it. Food very good and fresh. I highly recommend this restaurant for a nice change of pace and good food!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, PA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“unusual menu, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Would never have found this place, nor gone inside, without Tripadvisor recommendations. Glad we did. Adventurous menu with some delicious offerings. The focus is on the food, not the decor.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Island Tea House also viewed

 

Been to Spice Island Tea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice Island Tea House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.