We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Head's South Side Saloon

Fat Head's South Side Saloon
1805 E Carson St, Pittsburgh, PA 15203-1707 (Southside Flats)
(412) 431-7433
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 1,895 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Neighborhood: Southside Flats
PITTSBURGH
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

First time here for me. The food is great and so big portions. Excellent wings and shrooms. Seven of us went only one was able to eat more than half of their sandwich. Server was very good. I highly recommend a visit to this place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    147
    32
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delafield, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beer Galore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We were recently in Pittsburgh to attend a baseball game at PNC Park. We wanted a local restaurant with "sporty" foods. Fat Heads had a large menu with great burgers, sandwiches and more. There were plenty of items to choose from and portions were abundent. The beer selection was awesome with many brewed by them vs commercial brands. One of the owners stopped and chatted with us. The atmosphere was fun, very friendly and welcoming. Service was great too. Would definitely recommend this spot.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great place to meet friends; great selection of beers.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Great place to meet friends, drink a few brews, and eat regular bar far. Prices are good, food portions are HUGE; true bar atmosphere.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great beer, great food and great staff!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I checked this place out because I remembered seeing it on TV and I wanted to try something different on this trip to Pittsburgh, and boy am I glad that I did!

I started out by ordering one of their own brews, Bumbleberry, a honey blueberry ale garnished with what else but fresh, sweet blueberries. It was delicious and a perfect fit for a hot day.

As an appetizer, even though it was hot outside, I had to try the Chicken Parmesan soup. The soup was an awesome tomato and meat base wtih chunks of chicken, all covered up by a layer of provolone and parmesan and broiled until bubbly and delicious. It was fantastic!

For my entree, I ordered the PCI (Pretty Cool Italian Club) and it was mammouth and did not disappoint! The sandwich starts out with a layer of banana peppers then stacks of salami, ham, cappicola and pepperoni, melted cheese, sliced hard-boiled eggs, lettuce, tomato and onions and held together with a flavorful rosemary mayo! Served along side this beast was a heaping portion of their fresh cut chips which were the perfect complement to the sandwich (or, as they prefer to say, "headwich").

The food and beer was great but the staff are an equal part of why I will definitely return. My bartender, Joe, was the best. A great personality from he and the other bar staff made for an extremely pleasant visit! I will definitely return whenever I am in Pittsburgh!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“great beer selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Lot's of Microbrews on tap. Great garlic fries, big sloppy sandwiches.
Hot Spot for college crowd. Mat have to wait for a seat!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Head's South Side Saloon also viewed

 
Pittsburgh, PA
 

Been to Fat Head's South Side Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fat Head's South Side Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.