We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Head's South Side Saloon

Fat Head's South Side Saloon
1805 E Carson St, Pittsburgh, PA 15203-1707 (Southside Flats)
(412) 431-7433
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 1,720 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Southside Flats
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This place is a must when visiting Pittsburgh. The food is great, the sandwiches are HUGE, forget the diet. The onion rings are a must if you like spicey!!! The beer choices are pretty good The place was very noisey, hard for conversations, but the food is worth it! Prices are reasonable. Good luck with parking in the area, not an easy task. Not really a good place to take small kids due to the noise and the environment. And you will have to wait on a table so plan accordingly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    164
    35
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Do not miss this place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

You need to get there early as people start Lining up. The choices are enormous as are the portions! I recommend sharing as you will not be able to move if you eat the whole thing!! Food is fantastic and servers are very friendly!! A must on every Pittsburgh visit
Fantastic!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Bar/Tavern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Wow! Recommended by a local.
Dozens of Beers, Monster Burgers, a Mountain of Nachos, Hugh Unique Menu items. Great loud music. Sports screens everywhere! Two thumbs up! I'd say come hungry, but you'll suffer while looking for parking.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great find - forget the diet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Asked a Taxi driver where to eat on a Sunday night - he dropped us off here and I fully recommend it
We had to wait about 30 minutes - it was very busy with couples, families and friends, but sat in the bar and spent an age deciding on which of the many beers to try
When we were seated, we were given a menu with even more choices that the beer - go for the sandwiches - amazing size and flavors - I went for Steak, Egg and Cheese - talk about comfort food - and the plate full of chips.....

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
“Awesome Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Being in Pittsburgh for only a couple of days, I was limited to only a couple meals at restaurants. I am SO happy that Fat heads was one of my stops. The staff is very helpful and friendly. It is pretty busy, we waited 30 minutes for a table, but it is well worth the wait. The sandwiches are about 9 inches diameter, not the actual burger, but the bun was huge! Even though they are known for their sandwiches, you HAVE to try the chicken wings, especially the grilled ones. DELICIOUS! Make sure you come here when you are visiting Pittsburgh, but plan on this being your only meal for the day!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Head's South Side Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Fat Head's South Side Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fat Head's South Side Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.