We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but not Great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tessaro's

Tessaro's
4601 Liberty Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15224-1922 (Bloomfield)
(412) 682-6809
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 1,895 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Bloomfield
Chesterton, Indiana
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“OK but not Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We went here expecting the supreme hamburger and I would have to say it was quite ordinary, except for the size which was huge. We had a party of six and were lucky to get a table as they do not take reservations. The waitress was extremely good and the service was above average. Perhaps our burgers were done and sat on the warming tray for awhile but I was just not that impressed. A few of us had the black and blue burger and it was just so so.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    58
    24
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“I like the neighborhood/family feel of this place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I got the feeling that this place was being run by 3 generations at once and I like that. It was a busy night and we waited on the sidewalk for our table. We were kept informed and only had to wait about 20 minutes. The menu is simple and the place is known for their burgers which are very good. They also have a good selection of specials that feature many seafood selections.
I will return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Neighborhood bar, home cooked real food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Our entire party had Tessaros burgers...all were cooked to perfection. Each ordering a different temp (md rare, medium, and medium well), all distinctly different and perfect.

The aroma of real hardwood is perfect through your entire meal and food is obviously prepared with love and talent.

Experience it for yourself, wont be dissapointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“very accomodating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

After my mother passing away at West Penn hospital we needed a beer and a bite to eat after calling the restaurant to see if they could accommodate 10 and we were right down the street at 5 pm on a fro they told us to come on down and after20 mind of calling they had a table ready tor us and the food and atmosphere was wonderful. The manager was awsome. Burger's are out of this world!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good burgers in Italian Neighborhood.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Pluses:
The burgers at Tessaro's are large (my wife and I split one) and tasty, the atmosphere rustic (think log cabin). Prices are good (1 entree split between two adults, two kids entrees, 4 drinks under $35 including tip), and no wait to get in.
Minuses:
The bar area is small and crowded, especially if a local team is on TV. Service is average.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tessaro's also viewed

 

Been to Tessaro's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tessaro's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.