We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place to grab a drink” 3 of 5 stars
Review of McFadden's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
McFadden's
211 N Shore DR, Pittsburgh, PA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #810 of 1,899 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Cuisines: Irish
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not a bad place to grab a drink”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

McFaddens is just outside PNC ballpark and is a great place to grab a quick drink and appetizer before or after a game. Lots of bartenders who are quick and attentive though the beer and wine prices seem high. Outdoor patio seating is available overlooking the river and downtown. On July 4th the atmosphere was festive, servers were all decked out in red, white and blue. Mix of adults and kids, something for everyone.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    9
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“College dive with 10 year old music”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I went here with a bachelorette party (there were probably 5 bach. parties there that night). Semi-crowded but not hard to get a drink at the bar. The bartenders were friendly and smiley, so that was a bonus. Everyone in the place looked like they were 22-25 years old. The place was dark, grimy, and just dirty. $5 for a Bud Light, $9 for a Grey Goose & Tonic, $10 for a shot of what tasted like straight Red Bull - ouch, but expected. We went there to dance, and the dance floor was definitely full of people twerking all over each other, but I could not get over the DJ playing music that was popular when I was in college 10 years ago! "Yeah" by Usher? "Salt Shaker" by whoever sings that??? It was fun and no one bothered anyone, but I can't imagine ever going back if you're over the age of 25. Maybe it's better before or after a Pirates game?

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best part was the tap beer...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This place is convenient to PNC park but that's about all it offered. The food was, at best, average. Four of us went a Sunday before the baseball game and none of us left raving. The floor was sticky and the bar stools were rickety. One gentleman actually had to change chairs as the one he was sitting on has collapsed below him... He was not a large man! Two people ordered slaw instead of fries and got fries. The waitress was not around to make the correction. The bloody Mary's were awful and tasted like olive juice. The tap beer was thankfully cold. Overpriced for quality. This place is seriously lacking but preys on the convenience of proximity to PNC. I would not return here or recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Pregame stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Great place for pregaming. The bar staff was fantastic. Great atmosphere and plenty of tvs to look at.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lester, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dissatisfied”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Sat us at 800 then after we ordered td us we had to leave by 930 because we had kiids in our party. When half ordercame out and then we were accuses of STEALING half the order. Totally unacceptable

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McFadden's also viewed

 

Been to McFadden's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McFadden's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.