We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Addition to Downtown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sal's City Deli

Sal's City Deli
245 Seventh Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15222
4124341100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #234 of 1,895 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Addition to Downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Sal's offers authentic deli sandwiches, soups and salads in an inviting atmosphere. It's kind of Deli Upscale, as the furnishings and atmosphere is more upscale than what you would expect from any Deli.

We found the prices reasonable for downtown, and they clearly have a loyal clientele. The owner even stopped by and introduced himself. Service was good all the way around. They have a separate takeout area which is nice if in a rush.

The corned beef and the cannolli would be our top recommendations. we'll be bacl to try the pastrami, as the people at the table next to us seemed to be loving theirs.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Food was good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We along with daughter and grandkids ate there after the Sunday matinee. Something on the menu for all. Good quality pastrami. Limited beer and wine choices.

We will go again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not worth the price tag.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Working downtown, I always get excited to try a place that just opened. Sal's is around the corner from my workplace which really attracted me. I went to Sal's a few weeks ago and ordered a Cuban. While I thought it was good, it was too small and even ordinary for its $8.95 price tag. What a pity. If it was cheaper, or bigger, or tastier, I'd probably eat here several times a week. As is, I'll probably forget it even exists.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Deli in Pittsburgh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Unfortunately there aren't any great deli's in Pittsburgh. This just opened in downtown. The reubens are excellent. They have a sit down area and do carryout. The Gumbo is a disappointment and milabeled as New Orleans Gumbo. Fried chips are very good. Sandwiches are $7.95 or $8.95 - decent value. The bowls of soup are around $5.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sal's City Deli also viewed

 
Pittsburgh, PA
 

Been to Sal's City Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sal's City Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.