We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side to your Saves list
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2795 South Water Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15203 (Southside Flats)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romance Package
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Connellsville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Awesome Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My wife, daugther, and I stayed here on July 4th. We attended the Riverhounds soccer game and watched the fireworks from there that night. This hotel was very convenient to everything we wanted to do. They outdoor deck overlooking the river is a great place to hang out and enjoy the beautiful summer weather. All of the amenities in this hotel are top shelf as it is new and was constructed/furnished very well and the staff is very friendly and accomodating. Secure parking garage below with easy in/out access is great. I will commend this hotel for having a bike storgae room, which I have not found in any other Pittsburgh hotel. We brought our bikes to ride on the bike trail and were pleasantly surprised of the secure bike storage room, I think you need to publicize this more as I belive it's a great selling point. This was our second stay at this property and will definitely return again, The only negative was the breakfast buffet in the morning as the hotel must have been close to capacity and the one person managing the breakfast area was doing the best she could but couldn't keep up with the crowd that morning as they need to have more people working that morning to handle the crowd.

Room Tip: Riverview room - high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Chip329,
Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay with us over July 4th. We appreciate you selecting our hotel while in town attending the Riverhounds soccer game. I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, our friendly staff, and the variety of wonderful amenities that we’re proud to offer our guests. Your feedback is important to us and we look forward to seeing you on your return visit to Hyatt House Pittsburgh South-Side. Thank you again for your review and patronage.

Sincerely,
Michael Rhoten, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    45
    7
    0
    4
See reviews for
48
52
5
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Bethlehem, PA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed here after hearing good reviews. It was our first night out without kids in a few years. Hotel was very nice and new and contained very modern decor. The highlight was the outdoor patio on the river featuring grills and fire pits. Also, the room was set up very smartly with features such as a charging bar for electronics, great view, comfortable bed, and a great shower. Would stay there again. Hotel is located in a great part oftownandwithin walking distance of some great restaurants and shops.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Doug H,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at Hyatt House Pittsburgh-South Side. We appreciate you and your wife selecting our hotel for your first adult night out. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay, and found our outdoor features, central location, and comfortable accommodations well suited for your visit. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Michael Rhoten, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hotel is brand new (there was still a bit of drywall dust around), the staff are very eager to please. It is a good location if we want to stay on the South Side, which is a little bit away from downtown. The hotel is very convenient to the bike path which runs along the river and is immediately behind the hotel. The suite rooms were very nice. Breakfast is supposed to have personally made omelets, but, I didn't see anyone prepared to do it. Otherwise, the breakfast was ok, nothing too exciting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
50Continental_Drift,
Thank you for your review and complimentary feedback on our great hotel and excellent service. We’re happy to have had you as our guest, and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to the South Side. Thank you again for writing

Sincerely,
Michael Rhoten, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drums, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

One night stay in very new hotel. Clean, friendly staff, and suite was beautiful. Hotel is very modern but nice. Offer included breakfast in the am. Because it is an extended stay hotel, all rooms are suites, however, there is a nice indoor pool, gym and great outdoor patio. Would like to especially complement Linda, ( if I got the wrong name, I apologize). She was the am breakfast person, omelette maker. She was extremely friendly, nice to talk to, and went out of her way for us. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Kim B,
It’s great to hear from you! We appreciate your review and kind comments about our clean accommodations and friendly staff. I’ll be certain to recognize Linda with a special commendation for her warm hospitality and outstanding service. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you’ll visit us again at Hyatt House Pittsburgh-South Side. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Michael Rhoten, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We took advantage of a special AAA rate and booked the one bedroom with queen sofa and kitchen. Parking is $14 for valet parking with multi-in and out. The area appears to be a revitalized area with lots of shops and a few restaurants near by. Movie theaters are a block away. A lot of young adults in the area. There is a patio over looking the river walk. The patio has places to sit and one of the areas is around a gas fire pit/place. A gas grill is on the deck as well. (We didn't use any of these but did check them out.) There's an indoor pool and exercise room. The free breakfast was good-- eggs, bacon, pancakes, tea, coffee, juice, bagels, toast - the usual fare.

Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Our room was clean but was missing sheets, pillows and blankets for the sleeper sofa. We also ran out of towels; The room was only stocked for two people.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
David R,
We appreciate you writing a review about your stay with us at Hyatt House Pittsburgh-South Side. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay, as well as our friendly staff, clean rooms, and the variety of amenities that we’re proud to offer our guests. I have discussed this review with our housekeeping staff and apologize for the oversight. We value you as our guest and hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Michael Rhoten, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Nice, new clean hotel. The Terrace with fire pit makes for a nice place to relax. GREAT location as all the features of the South Side Works and easy access to downtown Pittsburgh, North Shore, Consol Energy, Oakland etc. spacious and well appointed rooms that work well for one night, a weekend or even longer term stays. Reasonable valet parking for $14 per night. Only complaint was the 2nd night of our stay they never came to clean or make up our room??...returned to room late to find this so just called and got fresh towels and made it work.....otherwise abreast stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Douglas S,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at Hyatt House Pittsburgh-South Side. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay, our spacious accommodations, as well as our central location. It’s unfortunate to hear that your room was not cleaned on your 2nd night stay. I have addressed this issue with our housekeeping staff and I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced as a result. We value you as our guest and hope you have an opportunity to visit us again. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Michael Rhoten, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My room was larger then expected! For the affordable price I got a king bed, kitchenette including pots pans and the like, and a nice large bathroom! Very modern and the hotel is green too! The staff was friendly and the pool was warm! I will be staying here again and told my friends visiting the Burgh to stay here, it's also close to all the local bars and restaurants and music venues on East Carson!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Veronika S,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us at Hyatt House Pittsburgh-South Side. It’s great to hear that our spacious accommodations, friendly staff, and central location made for an enjoyable. We appreciate your recommendations of our great hotel and we look forward to your return visit. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Michael Rhoten, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side

Address: 2795 South Water Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Southside Flats
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.