We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time on New Year's Eve!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sienna Sulla Piazza

Sienna Sulla Piazza
22 Market Square, Pittsburgh, PA 15222
4122816363
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sienna Sulla Piazza is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #80 of 1,895 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: $3 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Market Square
Description: Sienna Sulla Piazza, located in downtown Pittsburgh's vibrant Market Square, voted "Best New Restaurant 2013" by Pittsburgh Magazine, invites you to experience simple and creative dishes. Enjoy a variety of fresh, flavorful dishes using the highest quality, often locally sourced ingredients. Our full bar includes wine from Italy and around the world to complement your dining experience. Open Table Award Winner for Italian, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, and Outdoor Dining.
Warren, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great time on New Year's Eve!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

My wife, eight-year-old daughter and I had a great time here. The cozy atmosphere was great on a cold night. Our waiter (who was a dead-ringer for Barry Manilow) was very attentive and the food was delicious. My wife had ravioli and my daughter got the orzo mac-n-cheese. I had the braised rabbit and it was fantastic! It was near the theater district, so it would be a good spot for pre-show dining.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    26
    9
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Culpeper, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Super.. super.. super”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

true Tuscan fare, not the "American Italian" ... drinks good.. service super (Michael.. was great).. dinners excellent.. would definitely rate this a FOODIE place.. reservations needed.. only complaint.. the "tall tables" near the bar.. if you are 5'8" or under you need a stool to get on the chairs and your feet won't hit the rail on the seat.. very uncomfortable.. poor choice for furnishings.. but dinner.. super..... do the octopus for appitzer or the pate...the squid ink pasta with seafood.. OUTSTANDING

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Small Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

You definitely need a reservation for dinner. This quaint restaurant cannot seat very many. That is part of what makes it so nice. This is a great date night or a visit with another couple place. I loved the arugula salad. I had the risotto and a friend had the short ribs. Both very different, but equally delicious. Our server was attentive. I highly recommend this one!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Unpretentious, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I thought this restaurant was a great all rounder: good food, drinks, service and atmosphere. I particularly liked that there were some unusual dishes: rabbit pasta and an arugula salad. These showed some creativity beyond what otherwise seemed to be lots of restaurants offering vodka pasta. I'd be really happy to go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great place in Market Square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Formerly occupied by Bella Sera, this restaurant is an excellent addition to Market Square. Stopped in for lunch, and I loved the Stuffed Meatball Sandwich. The rest of the menu is very creative, with a variety of pasta, meat, and seafood dishes. I don't know what Mike W. means by "faux Italian," other than it's not overpriced, the servers aren't snooty, and since he doesn't like veal, he's probably out of place in any kind of Italian restaurant., "faux" or otherwise. Full bar and good beer and wine choices. Looking forward to having dinner there on my next visit to Pittsburgh.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sienna Sulla Piazza also viewed

 

Been to Sienna Sulla Piazza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sienna Sulla Piazza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.