We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too good to be called a diner.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Central Diner & Grille

Central Diner & Grille
6408 Steubenville Pike, Pittsburgh, PA
+1 412-275-3243
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 1,720 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Greek, Grill, Diner
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
penna.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Too good to be called a diner.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This was our first time here...it won't be our last. Great service, great menu, great food.
Frankly, I was unsure about trying this, because it's name says it's a DINER. Diner sets off the greasy spoon image in my head. I'm just not a greasy spoon kind of person. This is anything BUT a greasy spoon. It's a nice place with a nice staff and GREAT food. Great variety, Nice sized portions, but quality of the food is way above what you would expect from a DINER. Give it a try.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    41
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Everyday I drive past this diner and was always interesting in going but just never had the time. I finally got a chance to go and words cannot describe how wonderful this place is. The service was excellent. The managers/owners were also wonderful. They came by to make sure the food was ok and even helped seat people in the restaurant. The portions are huge and the food had so much flavor. I didn't even need syrup for my pancakes LOL :). I have been telling everyone about this place. I will be going again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKees Rocks, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“OUTSTANDING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

my name is brad and this restaurant is amazing. the food is out of this world. I was there with my mom and dad yesterday for lunch 12/17/13 I would go there again and again and again
the waitress that we had was amazing. just the service in general was outstanding that experience was one of the best I've had.

I think that the waitress was Melissa I don't know it started with an m thanks for this great experience

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beyond expectation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

This restaurant was listed in an advertisement at the motel we were staying at. By luck we chose it. The weather had turned very cold so walking in to this warm, inviting restaurant was wonderful. We were greeted immediately and set at a table. They had a great menu with entrees a little different than the usual. We ordered soup, moussaka, and shepherd's pie, along with two slices of mouthwatering cakes. We had to take the cake home because we were so full. Service was quick. Food was hot and tasty. Warm bread started it all. $35 for two people. By far one of the more pleasant stops on our trip. If I'm in Pittsburgh again I'll return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I have been here a few times over the last 2 months for breakfast and lunch. The service is excellent and the food very good! Portions are very large. Enough to take home for another meal!
Such a nice change from all the chain restaurants in the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Diner & Grille also viewed

 

Been to Central Diner & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Diner & Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.