We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice change of pace for Robinson” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Central Diner & Grille

Central Diner & Grille
6408 Steubenville Pike, Pittsburgh, PA
+1 412-275-3243
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 1,873 restaurants in Pittsburgh
Cuisines: Diner, Greek, Grill
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice change of pace for Robinson”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

I live in the area and have eaten here several times. Central is a nice change of pace from the countless chain restaurants that dominate the Robinson area. At one time, this was a Denny's, but you would never know. The owners have done a wonderful job in renovating. There is some outdoor seating and the dark wood & polished steel finishing gives the dining area an aura of class, not your typical "greasy spoon". The menu is huge and there is something for everyone here. You can get breakfast, all day ( which is what I normally do) and the portions are huge. Everything is made from scratch and is very fresh, those home fries that you're eating @ 8:00 PM don't taste like they were made @ 8:00 AM and the coffee is always fresh. A little more pricey than what you'd get at the Eat-N-Park down the road but easily, double the portion. I like their "wrap" sandwiches, as well. Desserts are "sinful", you can see the cakes in the cooler when you walk in, very similar to an NYC diner/deli. Service has always been attentive and friendly. I like the fact that the owner/staff make it a habit to visit tables and ask about your meal, it shows that they care. A welcome addition to the Robinson "scene".

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    51
    22
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Service - Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was our first time going to the Central Diner. I was pleasantly suprised in the service and the food portions. All of the staff was extremely friendly, Our food arrived very quick and the portions sizes were larger than I expected. Would reccomend this place to all.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Eating in a NY Style Diner in Pittsburgh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

OMG, I remember eating here many times as a Denny's. NO Way now. The Central is a real diner with great food and big portions. We will be back when in Pittsburgh

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fresh, Delicious, Made with Love!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Central Diner and Grille really makes a difference in the details. Upon first impression, you would never guess that the building is a former Denny's. The owners have completely renovated the space with rustic ledgestone on the outside, great lighting, and two partially covered outdoor seating areas in the front of the building. The inside is equally stunning with sleek tile and new carpeting, and a blend of stainless steel, wood, and stone throughout. It's clean and classy--a great setting for a great meal!
The food is also fantastic. Everything is handmade with obvious care. I had a chicken/pesto panini with fresh sundried tomatoes and spinach with the perfect blend of flavors. Others in my party had a veggie panini (which was spilling with fresh vegetables and was extremely satisfying), a stuffed chicken breast, and a Caesar wrap. The stuffing in the chicken breast was great with apples and raisins--every taste was perfectly balanced and complemented.
We didn't save room for dessert, but if the beautiful treats in the dessert case are any indication, we missed out BIG TIME. They had an array of cakes, pies, and brownies that looked absolutely fantastic.
Also, the portions were massive. Everyone had a to-go box at the end of the night and we're eager to eat our leftovers. The prices are high if you're comparing this to standard diner fare--but what you get for the money is well-worth the sticker shock.
The only thing keeping me from a perfect, spot-on five star review was the service. Our waitress wasn't as attentive as she should have been--forgetting to set the table for everyone in our party, disappearing for long periods of time, and failing to tell us that we are to pay at the front of the restaurant after our meal. This could be a fluke experience, so I'll definitely return with the full expectation of great service to match the impressive food!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“try it you'll like it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

What a great place to eat. Had dinner there several times and always had a good meal and usually left some on the plate ....too much! One time had a reuben ,but meat seemed tuff and didnot finish it, server noticed and asked if problem, told her about meat , several minutes later owner arrived ,apologized for problem, explained what was done wrong and offered free desserts to us (2) and my check for sandwich. THIS makes for good repeat business and great word of mouth . If you're hungry when you leave there ,it's your fault.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Diner & Grille also viewed

 

Been to Central Diner & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Diner & Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.