We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Claddagh Irish Pub

Claddagh Irish Pub
407 Cinema Dr, Southside Works, Pittsburgh, PA
412-381-4800
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #307 of 1,895 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: 15203
Sistersville, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

My husband loves to shop at REI, so my mission was to find a restaurant close to REI in Southside Works. On a busy Saturday night, The Cheesecake Factory had a wait of 1 1/2 hours, so I popped into Claddagh Irish Pub, where there was no wait. Pleasant surprise! We were seated in a back room, where the music was enjoyable, but not too loud. I ordered the grilled chicken/spinach/cheese sandwich, which was delicious and came with the best fries I've eaten in a long time. Hot, crisp, and tasty! My husband ordered a burger and said it was very good. We were too timid to try the traditional Irish fare, but the menu certainly looked interesting. Our server (Steve?) was excellent; attentive, without being obtrusive, cheerful, helpful. A very good experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    17
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great time at the bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Ryan & Eddie were great. Service was excellent. Gents were attentive and made some nice recommendations. Good atmosphere authentic Irish feel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Authentic Irish food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Love the stews, beers, and mashed potatoes. We have always been pleased with the service. The Irish Stew, Shepherd's pie, and corned beef and cabbage are my favorites. Try the Fish N Chips also-lunch or dinner.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Will Return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

First time visit and what a pleasant surprise. Nice interior, efficient and attentive servers and good value food. Background music was great too, and not intrusive, so conversation was easy. Easy to recommend. Will return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great Staff, food and of course drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

While in Pittsburgh on business I visitied this irish Pub. The exterior and interior were unique and the menu was simple. The food was great. I am not from the area but I felt like I was a local person after about 20 minutes. My bartender/waitress was great, she provided her favorites on the menu and also informed me of the specials for the night. I only intended on grabbing a quick bite and a pint of beer however Elizabeth was so welcoming I also ordered an app for dessert. I have already reccomended this place to several of my peers who also travel to the area.

Thanks Liz for making my stay nicer

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Claddagh Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to Claddagh Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claddagh Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.