We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   945 Penn Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15222   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #19 of 54 hotels in Pittsburgh
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay in Downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed here for business. Very surprised by this great Courtyard. Stayed in a room with 12 ft ceilings and had plenty of room. Staff was very friendly and the lobby and rooms were very clean. Within walking distance of several restaurants and attractions.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
arthuradesign,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown during a recent business trip. I'm glad you were surprised by our modern, spacious hotel. Should your travels bring you back to our area, please stop and visit us again.
Sincerely,
Francisco Selles, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    114
    30
    9
    5
See reviews for
52
63
22
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

What a wonderful surprize! The hotel is located in the heart of downtown of Pittsburgh..valet parking available as well as metered/lot parking nearby. The lobby is very modern, offering many amenities in a bright open layout..spacious, well appointed, .business center; ample comfortable seating with a large, flat screened tv; beverages and light snacks available free in the lobby; and friendly, knowledgeable staff. In addition, there is a Starbucks satellite shop in the rear of the lobby- which provides the free breakfast - choice of eggs, bacon, sausage, yogurt, cereal, oatmeal, baked goods, granola, fresh fruit, coffee, juices and more all cooked to order and delivered to your table, OR available to go.
Our room had free internet, a very comfortable King sized bed, well lit desk for working, couch and coffee table as well as a view of the courtyard and was extremely clean. Very modern, and up to date...hallways and elevators were also current and well maintaned.
There are many places to dine within a one block radius in every price range...we chose to dine at the adjoining restaurant, which was obviously popular with locals as evidenced by the many patrons...there is an extensive wine inventory with knowledgeable servers and an eclectic menu featuring tasty entress like mango and habernero pepper sauce over crabcakes served with fettucine..yum...
Just a five minute drive from famous Station Square...strip of restaurants/bars on the waterfront.
And finally, easy access to interstate and turnpike...left, left, right...:)
Would highly recommend this hotel..can think of nothing to fault...you won't go wrong here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear SlySugar:
Thank you so much for taking the time to give such a wonderful review of our hotel. Though we cannot take credit for the wonderful restaurants or numerous area attractions within walking distance, we will thank you for recognizing our team for their friendliness and dedication. I'm always surprised about how much knowledge there is between everyone here: we have food-connoisseurs, sports FANATICS, history-buffs, theater-triple-threats, music-lovers… all who love to show-off their interests and what Pittsburgh has to offer! Our bistro team and room attendants make us look good every day, offering a delicious breakfast and immaculately clean rooms. Sonoma Grille is an area staple! If you loved the crab-cakes please promise me you’ll start with their signature Fisherman’s Wharf Chowder on your next visit!

Thank you again for the wonderful review and your patronage… we hope to see you again on your next trip to Pittsburgh!
At your service, Francisco Selles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego NY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Rooms are spacious, reception staff friendly and helpful, valet service great! We were here for a Steelers game and it was an easy walk to the stadium (no more than 1 mile). The Sharp Edge Bistro just down the street is a great stop for a quick meal and great Belgian beer. The Strip district shopping and food are close by. Although we didn't see a show the theater district is within a block or two. Lots of restaurants nearby as well. The only reason I don't give this hotel a 5 is the mattresses are little stiff and hard. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Betsaroo :
Thank you for taking a moment to write a review about your stay with us at the Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Downtown. We're glad to hear you enjoyed our hotel and its spacious rooms (our rooms are big to begin with and with the vaulted ceilings they take on an added presence). I also wanted to thank you for recognizing our valet and front desk team. They are truly committed to taking care of our guests.
The Sharp Edge is a happenin' spot specializing in Belgian brews... in fact, every restaurant in the neighborhood has its claim to fame. Within a block you can find a California wine bistro, a Latin tapas bar, Thai food, and a gastropub-speakeasy! Short to say, you won't go hungry!
Don't wait for football season to return. The Pens are back, and a Pirates game at PNC Park is an awesome way to spend a summer's day!
Attentively, Francisco Sellés
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This Courtyard is a great location for attending events in the theater district and is also in walking distance of many fine restaurants. The hotel offers an up to date decor with rooms that are a comfortable size. The breakfast may be somewhat limited but was quite ample for us. The staff is very friendly and seem to take great pleasure and pride in their jobs. It may not be as plush as the Renaissance or the Fairmont, but it offers a great value in an ideal location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Carribeantraveler52,
We appreciate hearing from you and receiving such a wonderful review. It's great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff friendly and helpful; our team certainly makes my work here incredibly gratifying. I'm glad you enjoyed our theater district too. I found myself constantly hearing guests rave about the performances coming through, so this year, I was compelled to subscribe to the season and it has already been a real treat! You can follow the schedule of events by visiting pgharts.org

Please visit us again, we sincerely look forward to your return!
Sincerely,
Francisco Selles, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We came to watch the Steelers play - that turned out to be the only real disappointment of the weekend. Hotel is well located, rooms good and clean and staff friendly and helpful. Why not a five? Mattress was slightly dodgy and breakfast included was a bit spartan. However, overall it was a great stay. Was surprised to see a couple of poor ratings recently....

Room Tip: Stay on higher level floor away from lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Denzil B,
Thank you for writing a review and letting us know of your pleasant stay with us at Courtyard. We're glad you chose to stay with us while in town for the football game. I'm pleased to know that you liked our hotel and enjoyed our friendly staff. Please plan to visit us again for another great weekend.
Sincerely,
Francisco Selles, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is one of the cleanest hotels I've ever stayed in. I thought it had very recently been remodeled and this may have been the reason for the cleanliness however it was last remodeled 2 years ago, according to the staff, and it's the high standards of the Housekeeper that drive this. The standard room was small but adequate and pleasantly furnished. The bathroom was stocked with Paul Mitchell products which impressed me. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is situated in a good area for restaurants and the theatre. The Sonoma grill next door is great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Glen K,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and letting us know of your pleasant stay. We're delighted to hear of your satisfaction and appreciation for our high standards of cleanliness. I have shared you comments with our dedicated housekeeping team. They are humbled by your recognition! It sounds like you made the most of your time in Pittsburgh's Cultural Diatrict. Our friends at Sonoma Grille certainly know how to deliver a memorable dining experience. Please join us again for another great visit, and reach out to us if you're in need of ideas to make the most of your trip. At your service, Francisco Sellés
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed here for Light Up Night 2012. When the 9:30PM fireworks went off we had an AMAZING view from our room which was right next to the Convention Center!! OUTSTANDING staff at this property. Robert at the front desk was tops. Looking forward to our next stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
gucci21,
Thank you for your nice review. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm glad you liked the fireworks, and I hope you enjoyed all of the wonderful activities surrounding us. I'm also glad you felt well taken care of by Robert, and I'll make sure to give him a special commendation for his outstanding service. We look forward to your next stay too, so please plan to visit us again soon.
Sincerely,
Francisco Selles, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown

Address: 945 Penn Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#18 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#20 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Downtown hotel is not your typical Courtyard! This Pittsburgh Marriott Hotel is in the heart of the Cultural District and conveniently located among downtown businesses, the Strip District, Station Square, PNC Park, Heinz Field and is next to the David L. Lawrence Convention Center. This Marriott hotel in Pittsburgh was meticulously renovated from 4 historical buildings. Spacious guest rooms feature 12'-17' vaulted ceilings with modern decor, luxury bedding, large work area with well-lit desk and Free High Speed Internet. The Bistro, our new restaurant venue, offers refreshing to-go options or full, sit-down fare with healthy food selections. For lunch or dinner, taste the delicious West Coast Cuisine at the Sonoma Grille adjacent to the lobby. Let our expert Event Planners assist you with your next successful event in one of our 3 state-of-the-art Meeting Rooms. Experience a great location and terrific service at the award winning Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Marriott, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Courtyard
Pittsburgh Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.