We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a game or anytime!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   945 Penn Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15222   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #19 of 59 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Oswego NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great for a game or anytime!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Rooms are spacious, reception staff friendly and helpful, valet service great! We were here for a Steelers game and it was an easy walk to the stadium (no more than 1 mile). The Sharp Edge Bistro just down the street is a great stop for a quick meal and great Belgian beer. The Strip district shopping and food are close by. Although we didn't see a show the theater district is within a block or two. Lots of restaurants nearby as well. The only reason I don't give this hotel a 5 is the mattresses are little stiff and hard. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Betsaroo :
Thank you for taking a moment to write a review about your stay with us at the Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Downtown. We're glad to hear you enjoyed our hotel and its spacious rooms (our rooms are big to begin with and with the vaulted ceilings they take on an added presence). I also wanted to thank you for recognizing our valet and front desk team. They are truly committed to taking care of our guests.
The Sharp Edge is a happenin' spot specializing in Belgian brews... in fact, every restaurant in the neighborhood has its claim to fame. Within a block you can find a California wine bistro, a Latin tapas bar, Thai food, and a gastropub-speakeasy! Short to say, you won't go hungry!
Don't wait for football season to return. The Pens are back, and a Pirates game at PNC Park is an awesome way to spend a summer's day!
Attentively, Francisco Sellés
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    142
    36
    10
    6
See reviews for
65
80
24
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This Courtyard is a great location for attending events in the theater district and is also in walking distance of many fine restaurants. The hotel offers an up to date decor with rooms that are a comfortable size. The breakfast may be somewhat limited but was quite ample for us. The staff is very friendly and seem to take great pleasure and pride in their jobs. It may not be as plush as the Renaissance or the Fairmont, but it offers a great value in an ideal location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Carribeantraveler52,
We appreciate hearing from you and receiving such a wonderful review. It's great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff friendly and helpful; our team certainly makes my work here incredibly gratifying. I'm glad you enjoyed our theater district too. I found myself constantly hearing guests rave about the performances coming through, so this year, I was compelled to subscribe to the season and it has already been a real treat! You can follow the schedule of events by visiting pgharts.org

Please visit us again, we sincerely look forward to your return!
Sincerely,
Francisco Selles, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We came to watch the Steelers play - that turned out to be the only real disappointment of the weekend. Hotel is well located, rooms good and clean and staff friendly and helpful. Why not a five? Mattress was slightly dodgy and breakfast included was a bit spartan. However, overall it was a great stay. Was surprised to see a couple of poor ratings recently....

Room Tip: Stay on higher level floor away from lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Denzil B,
Thank you for writing a review and letting us know of your pleasant stay with us at Courtyard. We're glad you chose to stay with us while in town for the football game. I'm pleased to know that you liked our hotel and enjoyed our friendly staff. Please plan to visit us again for another great weekend.
Sincerely,
Francisco Selles, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is one of the cleanest hotels I've ever stayed in. I thought it had very recently been remodeled and this may have been the reason for the cleanliness however it was last remodeled 2 years ago, according to the staff, and it's the high standards of the Housekeeper that drive this. The standard room was small but adequate and pleasantly furnished. The bathroom was stocked with Paul Mitchell products which impressed me. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is situated in a good area for restaurants and the theatre. The Sonoma grill next door is great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Glen K,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and letting us know of your pleasant stay. We're delighted to hear of your satisfaction and appreciation for our high standards of cleanliness. I have shared you comments with our dedicated housekeeping team. They are humbled by your recognition! It sounds like you made the most of your time in Pittsburgh's Cultural Diatrict. Our friends at Sonoma Grille certainly know how to deliver a memorable dining experience. Please join us again for another great visit, and reach out to us if you're in need of ideas to make the most of your trip. At your service, Francisco Sellés
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed here for Light Up Night 2012. When the 9:30PM fireworks went off we had an AMAZING view from our room which was right next to the Convention Center!! OUTSTANDING staff at this property. Robert at the front desk was tops. Looking forward to our next stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
gucci21,
Thank you for your nice review. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm glad you liked the fireworks, and I hope you enjoyed all of the wonderful activities surrounding us. I'm also glad you felt well taken care of by Robert, and I'll make sure to give him a special commendation for his outstanding service. We look forward to your next stay too, so please plan to visit us again soon.
Sincerely,
Francisco Selles, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I was here on business, and it was my only option since the other hotel in our 'approved hotel' group was booked. This place was really set up for convenience for business travelers. The rooms were equipped with wi-fi, ample room for business attire, staff were friendly and professional, coffee available early in the AM. I liked the wine bar next to the hotel, and the location was perfect for walking about town on my lone evening to myself. Appreciated the wine bar next to the hotel as well. I stayed a couple of months ago so it's kind of a blur, now, but it was great for business travel and I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
JBUDAI,
Thank you for your review. We're pleased you chose to stay with us at Courtyard, and glad you enjoyed your visit. I'm glad you liked our property as well as our surrounding area. We hope you'll have another opportunity to visit us soon.
Sincerely,
Francisco Selles, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed here while on a business trip. Great location if you are going to office locations Downtown. Also good location if you are going to any shows or plays in the Cultural District.

I was there over a weekend as well and was able to walk to the Strip District. Plenty of life and things happening there. I would say that the Downtown area gets very quiet at night and everything shuts pretty early but that is Downtown Pittsburgh and not anything to do with the hotel and the staff did warn me of this when I checked-in.

The room was very spacious and had a fridge and microwave. It was clean although there did appear to be something stuck to the carpet in one place. Generally the staff were very helpful. Parking is valet only, although there is a public carpark just a few blocks away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
debarra13,
Thank you for your kind review. We're glad you stayed with us at Courtyard while traveling on business. I'm glad you liked our property as well as our surrounding community. It's good to hear you liked your spacious room and our friendly staff as well. Please come and visit us again soon.
Sincerely,
Francisco Selles, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown

Address: 945 Penn Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15222
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#20 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#25 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Downtown hotel is not your typical Courtyard! This Pittsburgh Marriott Hotel is in the heart of the Cultural District and conveniently located among downtown businesses, the Strip District, Station Square, PNC Park, Heinz Field and is next to the David L. Lawrence Convention Center. This Marriott hotel in Pittsburgh was meticulously renovated from 4 historical buildings. Spacious guest rooms feature 12'-17' vaulted ceilings with modern decor, luxury bedding, large work area with well-lit desk and Free High Speed Internet. The Bistro, our new restaurant venue, offers refreshing to-go options or full, sit-down fare with healthy food selections. For lunch or dinner, taste the delicious West Coast Cuisine at the Sonoma Grille adjacent to the lobby. Let our expert Event Planners assist you with your next successful event in one of our 3 state-of-the-art Meeting Rooms. Experience a great location and terrific service at the award winning Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Marriott and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Marriott
Pittsburgh Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.