We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Hotel, Nickled and Dimed per usual, Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   945 Penn Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15222   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Ranked #18 of 54 hotels in Pittsburgh
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Clean Hotel, Nickled and Dimed per usual, Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in connection with a wedding. It was precisely what you would expect from a Courtyard by Marriott - clean, friendly and wow does a little breakfast sandwich and an OJ cost a lot. I also hate when they put those $2.50 waters in your room. But that's a pet peeve.

Pillows were lumpy, but bed was good. Big windows, ours overlooked a courtyard. I had a lot of work to do and the FREE Wifi was VERY fast - I was able to log into my work's system with very little delay. Also like the desk setup.

The location was perfect for what we were doing. Walked to Pirates game, walked to the wedding reception at the Heinz History Museum, walked to dinner/bars. Not bad at all.

I do question the hotel's decision to only have 2 valets working on a day where 2 sets of wedding guests in the hotel were trying to get their cars. Seems ... like a poor choice.

Lastly, I was very confused by the front desk overall. I asked a woman about a place to get my nails done nearby and she was clueless. Looked it up on Yelp (which I had already done). Thanks. And then when asking a guy about a restaurant he told me the name/address and we asked whether we should make reservations. He said yes and then handed me his master list and pointed "there's the phone number." Maybe I'm old fashioned, but I've never had a hotel make ME call the place to make a reservation. I didn't mind, it was just very strange. At a nice hotel they usually fall over themselves to do it for you! Odd.

But overall, yeah this would work for a business trip easy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
skiergirl07,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at Courtyard. We’re very pleased to have had you stay with us while attending a wedding in the area. We strive to offer the highest quality of service possible for our guests so I’m displeased that was not your impression. We adequately staff our valet department, though peak times will always present a challenge just by virtue of being downtown and the size of the curb assigned to us. We try to remind our guests to call ahead for their vehicle. Also, though we do not have a dedicated concierge desk, our desk agents do an extraordinary job filling this role, providing information on area attractions, direction and recommendations. We empower our guests with information and upon request can mediate services such as calling in dinner reservations. Thank you for your visit and your time to share your experiences with us. We hope to see you again soon,

Attentively,
Francisco Selles, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    111
    27
    9
    5
See reviews for
49
62
22
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bridgeport, West Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed 2 nights after Labor day to go to a pirates game and relax with my girlfriend. Hotel was nice and close to the strip district as well as PNC park. The room was very clean and beds were comfortable. The outside courtyard on the third floor was pretty nice and even had a gas grill for guests to use.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Drew S,

Thanks for writing a review about your recent stay. Sounds like you enjoyed some great food at the Strip District, and a relaxing time at PNC Park. We're glad you chose us and that we met your needs. Please join us again and next time, if you need help with the grill, count me in, I eat pretty much anything and will even help with the clean up!

Kindest Regards,
Francisco Selles, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

The staff at the hotel were incredibly friendly/helpful. Absolutely amazing! Although the valet service was very fast I prefer self park but the location doesn't have parking at the hotel, although I think it is available. Didn't use room service but it's for the restaurant next door and looked pretty nice. Two thumbs up.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Actonma,

Thank you for the two thumbs up!!! We have a dedicated team which works hard to exceed the expectations of our guests. Definitely join us again…

Always at your service,
Francisco Selles, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I only stayed in the hotel for one night, passing through town, checking out a Pirates game, so please consider that.

First off, the room was great. Nice size, high ceilings...12 feet probably, and giant windows. The room was very clean, which is always a nice way to start. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. The bathroom was a good size, shower was good as well. It also had a little nook (see picture) with a little shelf for coffee. I kind of wished the area underneath had a mini fridge.

The one slight drawback was that the floor seem to ‘creek’ when you walked around, but I think that was due to new carpet being laid down, because the room looks like it was done over recently. Not a major flaw at all.

As far as the location, it was in downtown area, near a few theaters and bars/restaurants. More importantly for my trip, it was within walking distance to PNC Park.

I also liked that the staff, after we pulled up asked if we wanted to valet or park close buy. He explained the rates, and since I was staying 1 night and not using my car during the day, he recommended a lot that was 5 dollars that was down the street.

I would definitely want to return to Pittsburgh; and this hotel specifically, perhaps for a weekend, and explore more of the city.

Room Tip: I chose a high floor when book...for no real reason at all...and was on the 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
­­ mjh84,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay with us. Our team is very passionate about our beautiful city, so I hope you do join us again and allow us to help you make the most of your time in Pittsburgh. We celebrate your compliments about our facility and staff and hope other viewers will notice as well. We’ll see you soon…Go Pirates!!!

Kindest regards,
Francisco Selles, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Close to convention center, be prepared to pay extra for being downtown. Hotel renovated a short while ago, great building, with a small (courtyard) nice but small. Rooms have 14' plus ceilings, great feeling, workout room but no pool, not really kid friendly. Mini kitchen nook with micro, fridge and of ourselves the single cup coffee maker Courtyard likes to use. Bathroom clean and well appointed with the push out shower curtain so it's not clinging to you while showering. Downsides, this Courtyard hopefully not all has gone to a pre packaged breakfast not a fresh breakfast, everything tastes like mcDonalds, actually Mikkie Ds may actually taste better. An un helpfully counter staff tells you that you can orcannot have a yogurt or orange juice with your (over priced) hot breakfast - Asa businessman, not the way I wish to be treated. The Srarbucks is a nice touch though but not enough to redeem what they have done here. My recommendation for hotel in Downtowns Pittsburg, look elsewhere if you want Bfk included and don't mind paying over the top prices

Room Tip: All rooms are good, no real bad choice, if you need a cot, make sure you reserve in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Michael P,

Thank you for staying with us at Courtyard. We appreciate your feedback.

The Courtyard Bistro is part of the new Courtyard look. It offers a variety of fresh, healthy breakfast foods, along with Starbucks brand coffee. Everything is made to order, and offered a la carte...Think Panera, Au bon pain, etc... Though it is a departure from the beloved breakfast buffet, it is actually designed to give you more choices, and healthier options for business travelers on the go.

Some guests find it confusing the first time around. It comes down to two choices: you may select an entree, your choice from the pan and griddle menu or breakfast sandwhiches, with coffee or juice; or instead you may opt for 2 ready-to-go items (baked goods, yogurt, etc) with coffee or juice.

We hope you chose to visit us again.

Best regards,
Francisco Selles, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

My husband found this hotel through a great deal in Priceline and we couldn't have been more pleased. The hotel is nicely renovated, our two queen room was very spacious and so was the bathroom. Everything was clean, there was a mini refrigerator and microwave in the room and a separate space with a coffee maker. The staff was very friendly and recommended the restaurant next door (Sonoma) and Eleven (two blocks away) and both were very good. There is a small cafe downstairs with a very limited menu for breakfast but they are only open until 10am. The lemonade and treats at the lobby were a nice touch. The only thing I found odd was that although our bed was made daily, the linens were not changed every day.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
RosiK,

Thank you for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We’re happy you and your husband had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed our newly renovated hotel. I’m glad you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We have a Green initiative in place to conserve resources. Towels and linen can be replaced daily upon request, otherwise we follow a schedule based on your length of stay. The details of the program are described in the notecard placed on the bed at check-in. We are able to accomodate any request understanding guests may have different preferrences.

Thank you once again for your patronage and safe travels!
Francisco Selles, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

stayed at the Courtyard for a convention. Closer to convention center than the hotel that is attached via walkway. Free starbucks coffee in AM and delicious lemonade type drink in PM. Small breakfast place is a bit overpriced, but food is great. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Free shuttle service to downtown sites. Rooms are large, very clean. Toiletries are by Paul Mitchell, so leave yours at home.

Room Tip: no pool or spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Rockyhillnative,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to write a courteous review about our hotel on TripAdvisor. We’re pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us while attending your convention. I’m glad you enjoyed our complimentary coffee and lemonade. I’m also glad you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We invite you to come and stay with us again.

Yours truly,
Francisco Selles, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown

Address: 945 Penn Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#18 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#19 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Downtown hotel is not your typical Courtyard! This Pittsburgh Marriott Hotel is in the heart of the Cultural District and conveniently located among downtown businesses, the Strip District, Station Square, PNC Park, Heinz Field and is next to the David L. Lawrence Convention Center. This Marriott hotel in Pittsburgh was meticulously renovated from 4 historical buildings. Spacious guest rooms feature 12'-17' vaulted ceilings with modern decor, luxury bedding, large work area with well-lit desk and Free High Speed Internet. The Bistro, our new restaurant venue, offers refreshing to-go options or full, sit-down fare with healthy food selections. For lunch or dinner, taste the delicious West Coast Cuisine at the Sonoma Grille adjacent to the lobby. Let our expert Event Planners assist you with your next successful event in one of our 3 state-of-the-art Meeting Rooms. Experience a great location and terrific service at the award winning Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Tingo and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Courtyard
Pittsburgh Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.