We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent bar next door, and has good shuttle to PPG Plaza.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   945 Penn Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15222   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent bar next door, and has good shuttle to PPG Plaza.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012 via mobile

Who knew Pittsburgh had a bar with a stellar wine collection? I expected ripple in a brown bag, but the place, whatever it's called, really impressed. Like with so many rust belt cities, you are not here on pleasure, you are here checking up on the branch office. It is located in the PPG plaza, so you must stay nearby. This place is just a bit past nearby, but they run an excellent and friendly shuttle. The Westin is closer, but for some bizarre reason, it is over your company's daily rate cap, so you stay here instead. If you're lucky, you are not on the side of the building next to the building that is currently under construction. Or destruction, it sounded like it could be either. Who knew they built/destroyed buildings at night? The friendly management has provided foam earplugs to help mitigate the nocturnal screeching metal cacaphony. Those and the Johnny Walker Blacks help you get through the night. I'll be back. I just hope that work next door is done next time. Good breakfast bistro in the morning, and good workout facility, too.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    128
    34
    9
    6
See reviews for
57
65
24
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Stayed here overnight, after attending a show. My room was extremely nice, and well appointed. All staff that I came into contact with were very pleasant. I had a problem with my showerhead. Engineering came up and fixed it right away. No complaints. Very nice hotel. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Very large rooms. I had a room with 2 Queen beds. Lots of space, much more then your average hotel r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
HappyGilmoreLPN,
Thank you so much for your review and recommendation! We appreciate hearing from you and are glad to know you enjoyed your stay and the level of service we provide. My apologies for the issue you had with your showerhead, I am glad we were able to resolve that efficiently.
The Pittsburgh Cultural District boasts so many great restaurants and sees so many shows coming through. It is a wonderful part of the downtown which we are happy to call home. Visit www.pgharts.com for the events calendar of all downtown theaters- hopefully you will find an excuse to visit us again in the near future!

Yours truly,
Francisco Selles, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed here one night while partying in the city celebrating his retirement. The room was very nice, staff excellent, bed just ok. The best part is the location in the heart of downtown's cultural district within walking distance of PNC Park, Heinz Hall, Benedum, etc. There are plenty of great restaurants located on Penn Avenue.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear meeshatoo,

Thanks very much for choosing our hotel, hope your husband enjoyed his retirement celebration! I’m glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and how convenient we are to all there is to see and do in the Cultural District. Hope to see you again!

Best regards,

David Lockard, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

We were here over the Christmas holiday and found a few great things to do in the area with our grandkids. The ice skating rink was just around the corner in easy walking distance. And proximity to freeways was good. I hate paying for parking, but in a dfowntown location, this is almost a given

I did find the arts area downtown to be a pleasant surprise. I remember coming to PIT 20+ years ago when I was a flight attendant for American Airlines, and the town was much diffent back then. There are currently many theatres in PIT now that off a variety of great entertainment from ballet, to symphony, to musicals. Will return in acouple of months to take the kids to see Copellia.

Back to the hotel... they have a nice cafe for breakfast, but you need to get there before 10 a.m. when they close for the day. There are no extras at this Marriott- no pool, work out facility, but a big plus for me was the free wi-fi. And it was very quiet, but the room was rather small. I was surprised that they would not change my room from a double queen to a king because was definately not crowded. But I got a good rate through Priceline and the front desk would not budge. The front desk person was pleasant but, great customer service would have accomodated my request.

Very clean, comfortable beds... but they definately need new pillows. After 32 years of staying in hotels during my career, I can be pretty picky!

Room Tip: You know, we were right by the ice machine and did not even hear it. So, any location is probably go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Thanks Geri D for your review, it’s always great to hear from a seasoned traveler such as yourself. I hope you and the grandkids enjoyed the outdoor ice rink, we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!

Yours truly,

David Lockard, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Stayed here for two nights to be near Amtrak. Very nice room, good service. Nice restaurant. Not really sure about the area so much as I didn't venture out, but my experience at the hotel itself was very good to great. Would highly recommend if you're visiting P'burgh!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Thanks for your review and recommendation nikkirose! If you find yourself in Pittsburgh again, I hope you have time to get out and explore, there’s so much to do within walking distance of the hotel that you’re sure enjoy the experience.

Take care,

David Lockard, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

I stay in Courtyard's primarily as I am a business traveler and try to stick to the same brand. This one was GREAT. Perfect location, amazing restaurant next door (Sonoma Grille), new clean and giant rooms.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Agree with Hewesema... his description sums up this hotel. Nice place to stay. Typical Marriott experience. No view. High ceilings, nice washroom, bar fridge is empty, not too many channels, big room, great service, free internet and business centre, service was good.
Location is ok. Problem in Pittsburgh is that every area you want to visit is far apart from each other. This location is great to walk around downtown, along the river, to PNC Park.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown

Address: 945 Penn Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15222
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#22 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#23 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Downtown hotel is not your typical Courtyard! This Pittsburgh Marriott Hotel is in the heart of the Cultural District and conveniently located among downtown businesses, the Strip District, Station Square, PNC Park, Heinz Field and is next to the David L. Lawrence Convention Center. This Marriott hotel in Pittsburgh was meticulously renovated from 4 historical buildings. Spacious guest rooms feature 12'-17' vaulted ceilings with modern decor, luxury bedding, large work area with well-lit desk and Free High Speed Internet. The Bistro, our new restaurant venue, offers refreshing to-go options or full, sit-down fare with healthy food selections. For lunch or dinner, taste the delicious West Coast Cuisine at the Sonoma Grille adjacent to the lobby. Let our expert Event Planners assist you with your next successful event in one of our 3 state-of-the-art Meeting Rooms. Experience a great location and terrific service at the award winning Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Courtyard
Pittsburgh Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Pittsburgh Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.